Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526AZRPTRCA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Alzheimer’s Transforming Care Award

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~3
Application deadline
Sep 24, 2026 22 days left
Posted
May 1, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

The FY26 Alzheimer’s Transforming Care Award supports clinical research and clinical trials on interventions, innovations, and solutions for dementia care for people with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias and their care partners. Eligible applicants include U.S. Department of War organizations and other U.S. organizations, including foreign and domestic, for-profit and nonprofit, and public or private entities; awards go to organizations, not individuals. The program expects to fund about three awards with roughly $5.4 million total, with a maximum of $1.6 million in total costs for a single-PI application or $1.9 million combined for the CIT Partnership Option, over up to 4 years. Cost sharing is not required. Community collaboration is required for studies that prospectively enroll human subjects, and clinical trials that only test or evaluate pharmacological interventions, animal studies, and travel beyond the stated meeting limits are not allowed.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Older Adults & Family Caregivers
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Aging, Dementia & Caregiving
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Alzheimer’s Research Program (AZRP) Transforming Care Award (TrCA) supports clinical research or clinical trials evaluating interventions, innovations, and solutions in critical areas for dementia care for individuals with Alzheimer’s disease and Alzheimer’s disease related dementia (AD/ADRD) and their care partner(s). Distinctive Features: Clinical research and clinical trials are allowed; however, clinical trials solely testing or evaluating pharmacological interventions do not meet the intent of this funding opportunity. Studies utilizing animal models do not meet the intent of the mechanism and are not allowed. Preliminary data are required. Community collaboration is required for research prospectively enrolling human subjects. The AZRP encourages studies to leverage existing cohorts/datasets. Cohorts consisting of individuals 65 years or younger are also encouraged. Career Initiation or Transition (CIT) Partnership Option: The TrCA includes an option for more than one PI and supports both new and existing collaborative partnerships. If recommended for funding, each PI will be named on separate awards to the recipient organization(s). If utilizing this option, at least one independent investigator must meet the CIT Partnership Option eligibility requirements at the time of application submission.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026