Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526VRPMCRA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Vision, Mentored Clinical Research Award

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
““grants (31 USC 6304)”” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~2
Application deadline
Sep 10, 2026 8 days left
Posted
May 5, 2026
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds patient-oriented vision injury research led by an established clinician or Ph.D. clinical scientist with a clinician in training as the mentee. It is for U.S. Department of War organizations, including foreign and domestic, for-profit and nonprofit, and public or private entities; awards go to organizations, not individuals. The program expects to fund about two awards, with total costs capped at $75,000 per award and a maximum period of performance of 18 months. Cost sharing is not required, and the research must fit at least one FY26 Vision Research Program focus area and cannot be preclinical research or clinical trials.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Vision Research Program (VRP) Mentored Clinical Research Award (MCRA) supports patient-oriented vision injury research conducted by highly motivated military or civilian clinicians in training. The MCRA may be used to support a standalone study of high impact to vision injury care or the generation of clinical research data in preparation for a more expansive study. Research must align with at least one of the FY26 VRP Focus Areas . The MCRA may not be used to support preclinical research or clinical trials . Distinctive Features: · Key personnel must include an established clinician or Ph.D. clinical scientist, who will serve as Principal Investigator (PI) and a clinician in training (e.g., a fellow, resident, junior clinician, clinician in a Ph.D. program), who will conduct the proposed research under mentorship of the PI, with support from supporting personnel as appropriate. · The clinician in training should have sufficient time remaining in their training program to complete the research proposed under the MCRA. · Scored peer review criteria include Research Idea/Rationale, Research Strategy and Feasibility, Impact and Personnel. · Programmatic review criteria include adherence to the intent of the MCRA, contribution to program portfolio, relative impact and relevance to military health. · Applicants must submit documentation of Institutional Review Board (IRB)/Ethics Committee (EC) approval or exemption by January 1, 2027 , in order for the MCRA application to be considered for funding. https://cdmrp.health.mil/pubs/press/2026/vrppreann

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026