Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526DMDRPCTRA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, Clinical/Translational Research Award

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~6
Application deadline
Sep 18, 2026 16 days left
Posted
Jun 17, 2026
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds advanced translational research in Duchenne muscular dystrophy to move promising ideas toward clinical use, and applications must address at least one listed focus area. U.S. Department of War organizations, including foreign and domestic, for-profit and nonprofit, and public or private entities, may apply; independent investigators may serve as principal investigator. The program expects to fund about 6 awards with roughly $8.46 million total, with cost caps ranging from $0.91 million to $1.9 million depending on funding level and whether there is one PI or a partnering PI option. Cost sharing is not required. Awards are limited to grants, with no geographic restriction stated, and applications involving painful research on domestic cats or dogs are not supported except for studies relating to military or service animals.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy Research Program (DMDRP) Clinical/Translational Research Award (CTRA) supports advanced translational research to accelerate promising ideas in Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD) research toward clinical applications. Research must address at least one of the FY26 CTRA Focus Areas. Research projects investigating therapies that will be efficacious across the life span are strongly encouraged. Distinctive Features: The FY26 CTRA offers two funding levels: • Funding Level 1 to support smaller, less complex preclinical and/or clinical research. • Funding Level 2 to support larger, more complex preclinical and/or clinical research. The FY26 CTRA also offers a Partnering PI Option (PPIO) to support meaningful and productive partnerships between two investigators collaborating on the proposed research project. The PPIO has two eligibility categories: • Early-Career Partnering PI category for an independent, early-career investigator within 10 years of their first faculty appointment (or equivalent) by the time of application submission. • Established Interdisciplinary Partnering PI for independent investigators at all academic levels, or equivalent, in an area other than muscular dystrophy, seeking to transition to a career in DMD, thereby bringing their expertise to the field. Preliminary data are required for all applications. Pilot clinical trials and clinical trial readiness studies to better inform development of drugs, devices, and other interventions are allowed.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 11, 2026 Title updated