Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526AZRPTRDA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Alzheimer’s Transforming Diagnosis Award

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Invitation only
“Invitation to Submit an Application: August 10, 2026” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~2
Application deadline
Sep 24, 2026 22 days left
Posted
May 1, 2026
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

The FY26 Alzheimer’s Research Program Transforming Diagnosis Award funds non-incremental research aimed at overcoming barriers to diagnosis, disease monitoring, and prognosis for Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias. Eligible applicants include U.S. Department of War organizations and foreign or domestic, for-profit or nonprofit, public or private organizations; awards go to organizations, not individuals. The program expects to fund about two awards with roughly $3.2 million total, with a cap of $1.5 million in total costs for a single-PI application or $1.7 million combined for the career initiation or transition partnership option. The project period is up to 4 years, cost sharing is not required, and clinical trials and animal research are not allowed. Community collaboration is required for studies that prospectively enroll human subjects, and there is no requirement for a specific population such as Service Members or Veterans.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Aging, Dementia & Caregiving
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Alzheimer’s Research Program (AZRP) Transforming Diagnosis Award (TrDA) supports non-incremental, solutions-oriented research that reduces or overcomes important barriers to obtaining a diagnosis, meaningful disease monitoring and accurate prognosis. Distinctive Features: Clinical research is allowed, however clinical trials and animal research are prohibited. Preliminary data are required. Community collaboration is required for studies prospectively enrolling human subjects. Study Population: The AZRP encourages studies to leverage existing cohorts/datasets. Cohorts consisting of individuals 65 years or younger are also encouraged. Career Initiation or Transition (CIT) Partnership Option: The TrDA includes an option for more than one PI and supports both new and existing collaborative partnerships. If recommended for funding, each PI will be named on separate awards to the recipient organization(s). If utilizing this option, at least one independent investigator must meet the CIT Partnership Option eligibility requirements at the time of application submission.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026