Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-274 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Feasibility Clinical Trials of Mind and Body Interventions for NCCIH High Priority Research Topics (R34 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Nov 17, 2026
Posted
Nov 21, 2024
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Mental & Behavioral Health
  • Public Health, Prevention & Nutrition
Official description from grants.gov

The goal of this notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) is to support feasibility trials of complementary and integrative health approaches with physical and/or psychological therapeutic inputs (often called mind and body interventions) for conditions that have been identified by NCCIH as high-priority research topics. This funding opportunity is intended to support feasibility clinical trials that provide new information that are scientifically necessary for the planning and conduct of a subsequent clinical efficacy or effectiveness study, pragmatic trial, or dissemination and implementation trial within NCCIHs mission. NCCIH expects that applications to this NOFO will describe the planned future clinical trial and in so doing demonstrate that the proposed (R34) research is scientifically necessary to design or plan the subsequent competitive full-scale clinical trial. Under this R34, the data collected should be used to fill gaps in scientific knowledge necessary to develop a competitive full-scale clinical trial, including, but not limited to the following: examining feasibility and acceptability of interventions lacking published data; tailoring or adapting the content or structure of an intervention to a specific population, modality, or setting; refining the intervention to determine the most appropriate frequency or duration; determining feasibility of recruitment, retention, and data collection procedures; refining and assessing the feasibility of protocolized multi-component interventions; or examining acceptability and adherence of control conditions. The subsequent full-scale clinical trial should have the potential to make a significant impact on public health. Prior to submitting to this NOFO, applicants are encouraged to contact the appropriate NCCIH Scientific/Research contact person for the science area of the planned application.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Faith-based organization; HBCU; HSI; Other minority-serving institution; Tribal college (TCU)
“Faith-based or Community-based Organizations; Hispanic-serving Institutions; Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs); Asian American Native American Pacific Islander Serving Institutions (AANAPISISs); Tribally Controlled Colleges and Universities (TCCUs)” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 58 $441,813 $190,230 – $676,906
FY 2025 51 $472,500 $321,065 – $1,329,943
FY 2024 100 $562,397 $286,558 – $1,285,052
FY 2023 92 $695,557 $380,313 – $1,709,004
FY 2022 94 $715,153 $419,983 – $1,985,928
FY 2021 92 $1,686,420 $625,217 – $3,082,386
Who wins it Higher education (342), Nonprofit (97), Business (33) of 487 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (77) · MA (59) · NY (29) · NC (12) · IL (11)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
  3. DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
  4. THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
  5. THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026