Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. HT942526AZRPTRRA · Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACA

Open

DoW Alzheimer’s Transforming Research Award

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Invitation only
“Invitation to Submit an Application: August 10, 2026” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~4
Application deadline
Sep 24, 2026 22 days left
Posted
May 1, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

The FY26 Alzheimer’s Transforming Research Award funds non-incremental research aimed at reducing risk and preventing Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias. Eligible applicants include U.S. Department of War organizations and both foreign and domestic, for-profit and nonprofit, public and private organizations; awards are made to organizations, not individuals. The program expects to fund about four awards with roughly $4.0 million total, with a maximum of $1.0 million in total costs per award or per combined CIT partnership application over up to 3 years. Cost sharing is not required. Applications must address risk factor knowledge or risk reduction solutions, clinical research is allowed, clinical trials and animal research are prohibited, and community collaboration is required for research that prospectively enrolls human subjects.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Summary: The fiscal year 2026 (FY26) Alzheimer’s Research Program (AZRP) Transforming Research Award (TrRA) supports non-incremental, robust, well-designed research that drives transformative advancements in reducing risk and preventing the development of Alzheimer’s disease and/or Alzheimer's disease related dementias (AD/ADRD). Distinctive Features: • Applications must address at least one of the following focus areas: ○ Risk Factor Knowledge: Research that advances understanding, identification, and/or validation of risk and/or protective factors, with research outcomes/products focused on accelerating solutions. Projects may include, but are not limited to, research on environmental, epigenetic, genetic, lifestyle, occupational, or other risks not listed here. ○ Risk Reduction Solutions: Research that describes methods, technologies, and strategies that contribute to reducing risk and preventing AD/ADRD. • Clinical research is allowed, however clinical trials and animal research are prohibited. • Preliminary data are required. • Community collaboration is required for research prospectively enrolling human subjects. • Career Initiation or Transition (CIT) Partnership Option: The TrRA includes an option for more than one PI and supports both new and existing collaborative partnerships. If recommended for funding, each PI will be named on separate awards to the recipient organization(s). If utilizing this option, at least one independent investigator must meet

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.420 · Military Medical Research and Development

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.420), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 374 $934,195 $559,998 – $1,477,811
FY 2025 967 $796,174 $416,995 – $1,480,602
FY 2024 1,097
FY 2023 1,115
FY 2022 1,186
FY 2021 1,023

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,762 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Business (127), Nonprofit (34), Higher education (2) of 5,762 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · TX (103) · NY (99) · MA (74) · MD (38)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERISTY OF TEXAS M.D. ANDERSON CANCER CENTER $19,100,256 · FY 2025
  2. H. LEE MOFFITT CANCER CENTER AND RESEARCH INSTITUTE HOSPITAL, INC. $18,696,738 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $10,606,583 · FY 2025
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $10,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF VERMONT & STATE AGRICULTURAL COLLEGE $8,491,997 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 25, 2026