Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-27-071 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Discovery of the Genetic Basis of Childhood Cancers and of Congenital Anomalies: Gabriella Miller Kids First Pediatric Research Program (X01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jan 11, 2027
Posted
Jun 18, 2026
Last verified
7 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

As part of the Gabriella Miller Kids First Pediatric Research Program (Kids First Program), the NIH invites applications to submit samples from pediatric cohorts for whole genome sequencing at a Kids First Program supported genomic data generating centers. Applicants are encouraged to propose sequencing of existing pediatric cancer or congenital anomaly cohorts to elucidate the genetic contribution (somatic and/or germline) to childhood cancers, to investigate the genetic etiology of congenital anomalies, to study the molecular basis of the associations between congenital anomalies and increased cancer risk, or to expand the range of pediatric disorders included within the Kids First Data Resource. The program will accept applications that propose whole genome, exome, and transcriptome sequencing, as well as clinical-grade sequencing, long-read sequencing, proteomics, and epigenomic assays of tumor or affected tissue, when justified. Applicants are encouraged to propose cohorts to increase representation of existing Kids First Program projects. These data, and associated clinical and phenotypic data, will become part of the Kids First Data Resource Center for sharing with the research community.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.310 · Trans-NIH Research Support

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.310), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 115 $582,838 $418,649 – $860,735
FY 2025 401 $786,876 $385,000 – $1,467,198
FY 2024 455 $1,174,898 $558,715 – $2,057,532
FY 2023 643 $1,437,358 $1,200,000 – $2,578,153
FY 2022 666
FY 2021 689

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,969 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,212), Nonprofit (582), Business (34) of 2,969 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · MA (103) · NY (93) · PA (63) · MI (21)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $34,424,926 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $33,014,143 · FY 2023
  3. MAYO CLINIC JACKSONVILLE (A NONPROFIT CORPORATION) $17,574,818 · FY 2024
  4. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $16,308,508 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS MEDICAL CENTER RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC. $14,064,599 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026