No. 2025-NIST-MSE-01 · National Institute of Standards and Technology
Measurement Science and Engineering (MSE) Research Grant Programs
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- ~300
- Application deadline
- Sep 15, 2026 13 days left
- Posted
- May 14, 2025
- Last verified
- Today
At a glance
AI summaryNIST’s Measurement Science and Engineering Research Grant Programs fund extramural research and related activities in measurement science, standards, and technology. Eligible applicants are organizations, and the announcement says NIST seeks to collaborate with a wide range of groups, including minority-serving institutions and community colleges. The programs cover areas such as industry partnerships, laboratory research, semiconductor and microelectronics, communications, wireless networks, spectrum, and smart connected systems, and some support may go to conferences, workshops, studies, and technical meetings. The text does not state a general award size, number of awards, cost-share requirement, or geographic restriction, but it does say NIST cannot be an official sponsor or co-sponsor of funded events and that CRDO funding cannot go to a foreign entity of concern. The ADIIS program also says it will not fund new MEP Centers, MEP Center capability expansion through an MEP Center applicant, or NIST SBIR activities.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
To support activities that develop, expand, strengthen, or sustain NIST partnership programs and/or support the conduct of research or a recipient's portion of collaborative research in a variety of areas including, but not limited to: Metrology; S tandards; N anotechnology; A rtificial I ntelligence; A dvanced C ommunications; A dvanced M anufacturing; P romotion of U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness; M easurements in S ciences; N eutron R esearch; and enhancing coordination of the U.S. S tandards S ystem with government and private sector organizations.
Who can apply
- Others
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 11.042 · CHIPS Research and Development
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (11.042), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 18 | $289,611 | $283,402 – $289,985 |
| FY 2023 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 0 | — | — |
- ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $5,000,000 · FY 2024
- OCTAVE PHOTONICS LLC $504,014 · FY 2024
- HUMMINGBIRD PRECISION MACHINE CO. $309,130 · FY 2024
- TIPTEK, LLC $291,043 · FY 2024
- TECH-X CORPORATION $289,992 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 8, 2026
Assistance listing 11.609 · Measurement and Engineering Research and Standards
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (11.609), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 8 | $112,373 | $34,788 – $187,582 |
| FY 2025 | 58 | $99,233 | $76,790 – $213,764 |
| FY 2024 | 114 | $225,876 | $100,017 – $310,825 |
| FY 2023 | 118 | $157,732 | $77,016 – $315,998 |
| FY 2022 | 118 | $152,149 | $99,832 – $350,005 |
| FY 2021 | 111 | $179,961 | $104,656 – $504,267 |
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $37,500,000 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $35,497,179 · FY 2021
- AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR TESTING AND MATERIALS $8,999,564 · FY 2024
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $8,000,000 · FY 2021
- CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $6,000,000 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 12, 2026
Assistance listing 11.619 · Arrangements for Interdisciplinary Research Infrastructure
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (11.619), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2025 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1 | $424,155 | $424,155 – $424,155 |
| FY 2023 | 0 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 27 | $300,000 | $298,913 – $3,977,773 |
| FY 2021 | 2 | $76,500,000 | $73,250,000 – $79,750,000 |
- UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $83,000,000 · FY 2021
- ADVANCED FUNCTIONAL FABRICS OF AMERICA, INC $11,116,421 · FY 2022
- NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $4,982,299 · FY 2022
- THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION FOR THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,974,630 · FY 2022
- ADVANCED ROBOTICS FOR MANUFACTURING INSTITUTE $4,895,709 · FY 2022
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 12, 2026
Assistance listing 11.620 · Science, Technology, Business and/or Education Outreach
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (11.620), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1 | $13,000 | $13,000 – $13,000 |
| FY 2025 | 46 | $188,179 | $100,000 – $200,000 |
| FY 2024 | 66 | $199,942 | $105,452 – $200,000 |
| FY 2023 | 36 | $150,000 | $100,000 – $733,051 |
| FY 2022 | 42 | $100,000 | $99,938 – $400,000 |
| FY 2021 | 33 | $100,000 | $84,510 – $200,000 |
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $50,070,999 · FY 2023
- UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $35,189,022 · FY 2023
- THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $35,052,000 · FY 2023
- GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY $12,987,095 · FY 2023
- GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $12,875,333 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 12, 2026