Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. EPA-OLEM-OBLR-26-01 · Environmental Protection Agency

Open

FY27 Brownfields Job Training (JT) Grants

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $300,000
Expected awards
~20
Application deadline
Sep 23, 2026 21 days left
Posted
Jul 17, 2026
Last verified
Yesterday

At a glance

AI summary

EPA’s Brownfields Job Training Grants fund programs that recruit, train, and place local unemployed and underemployed residents for full-time environmental jobs tied to cleanup and revitalization. Eligible applicants include certain local and state government entities, federally recognized Indian Tribes outside Alaska, intertribal consortia, Alaska Native entities, and certain nonprofit organizations and related LLCs or limited partnerships. EPA expects up to 20 awards totaling about $5 million to $6 million, with individual awards up to $300,000 for project periods of three years or less. The notice does not state a cost-share requirement in the text provided. Coalitions may apply, and for coalitions the lead entity must be eligible and named members must be separate legal entities; coalition members cannot include certain affiliated entities or overlap with other FY27 coalition applications.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Environment
Official description from grants.gov

This notice announces the availability of funds and solicits applications from eligible entities to deliver Brownfields Job Training programs that recruit, train, and place local, unemployed, and underemployed residents with the skills needed to secure full-time employment in the environmental field. Brownfields Job Training Grants fund training programs that strengthen local workforces by preparing program graduates for environmental jobs that support cleanup and revitalization efforts in their own communities. Training may include a range of brownfield-related environmental skills such as the assessment and cleanup of solid and hazardous waste; chemical risk management; stormwater management relating to site cleanup; planning and site preparation for low-impact development activities; site preparation for green infrastructure installation; and vulnerability assessment and contamination mitigation planning. Please carefully review Section 4.E. of these guidelines, Section IV of EPA NOFO Clauses, and the Frequently Asked Questions, which can be found at https://www.epa.gov/brownfields/frequently-asked-questions-about-brownfields-job-training-jt-grants. A checklist of required application forms and documents is in Section 4.A. For the purposes of these guidelines, the term “grant” refers to the cooperative agreement that EPA will award to a successful applicant. In this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), “Project” refers to the applicant’s proposed Brownfields Job Training effort to be funded under this competition. Unless otherwise noted, “training program” is used synonymously with “project.”

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 66.815 · Brownfields Job Training Cooperative Agreements

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (66.815), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $499,775 $499,663 – $499,888
FY 2025 14 $500,000 $498,853 – $500,000
FY 2024 17 $500,000 $500,000 – $500,000
FY 2023 27 $500,000 $500,000 – $500,000
FY 2022 17 $200,000 $200,000 – $200,000
FY 2021 17 $200,000 $199,642 – $200,000

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $300,000.

Who wins it Nonprofit (65), Local government (17), Higher education (9) of 94 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (14) · CA (10) · MO (7) · PA (7) · AK (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. BAKER TECHNICAL INSTITUTE $500,000 · FY 2024
  2. CENTER FOR NON-PROFIT ADVANCEMENT $500,000 · FY 2025
  3. CITY OF ROCHESTER CITY HALL $500,000 · FY 2023
  4. CITY OF SPRINGFIELD $500,000 · FY 2023
  5. CITY OF TACOMA WASHINGTON $500,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 10, 2026