Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 21-588 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

EDU Core Research

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$500,000 – $2,500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Oct 1, 2026 29 days left
Posted
May 15, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds fundamental STEM education research on learning and learning environments, broadening participation in STEM, and STEM workforce development. It is open to eligible NSF proposers; unaffiliated individuals may not apply, and there are no PI or organization limits. Awards are expected to total about 40 grants, with about $35 million available; Level I proposals may request up to $500,000, Level II up to $1.5 million, and Level III up to $2.5 million, generally for 3 to 5 years. Pilot studies are Level I and should request less than $500,000 for up to 3 years, synthesis proposals may be Level I or II, and conference proposals are typically $25,000 to $99,000. There are no geographic restrictions stated.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

The EDU Core Research (ECR) program offers this ECR:Core solicitation and invites proposals for fundamental research (curiosity-driven basic research and use-inspired basic research) that contributes to the general, explanatory knowledge that underlies STEM education in one or more of the three broadly conceived Research Areas: Research onSTEM Learning and Learning Environments, Research on Broadening Participation in STEM fields, andResearch on STEM Workforce Development. Within this framework, the ECR program supports a wide range of fundamental STEM education research activities, aimed at learners of all groups and ages in formal and informal settings. Fundamental researchgenerates knowledge and understanding with the potential for broad relevance. The potential implications of ECR fundamental research for improving STEM education practice may be indirect and long-term rather than direct and immediate. Moreover, whether they include basic or use-inspired basic research, all successful ECR:Core proposals focus on the advancement or refinement of foundational knowledge for STEM education. The amount of funding and duration requested in proposals submitted to the ECR:Core solicitation should align with the maturity of the proposed work and the size and scope of the empirical effort. The solicitation has three levels of funding with a range of budget sizes, and proposals may request a duration of 3 to 5 years for any level: (1)Level I proposals may request up to $500,000; (2)Level II proposals may request up to $1,500,000; (3)Level III proposalsmay request up to $2,500,000. All proposals should justify the level of funding and duration in the project description.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 93 $743,868 $218,502 – $1,887,597
FY 2025 803 $475,000 $242,507 – $1,000,000
FY 2024 1,421 $398,874 $200,164 – $909,820
FY 2023 1,303
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

For comparison, this notice advertises $500,000 – $2,500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,466), Business (351), Tribal government (18) of 6,155 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (93) · TX (67) · NY (65) · NC (49) · IL (37)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
  2. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  4. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  5. MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced