Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RDK-RAD-FOA-2024 · Air Force -- Research Lab

Open

Research and Development (RAD) Directed Energy (RD) University Assistance Instruments

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Awards will take the form of grants and cooperative agreements.” — From the announcement
Invitation only
“Only invited applicants will be eligible to submit a full application.” — From the announcement
Award range
$0 – $49,000,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Jul 18, 2029
Posted
Jul 18, 2024
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds unclassified, nonproprietary basic, applied, and advanced research in directed energy for the Air Force, including work in laser systems, space-superiority electro-optics, high-power electromagnetics, and weapons modeling and analysis. Only accredited U.S. colleges and universities with degree programs in science, mathematics, or engineering may apply, and for-profit educational institutions are not eligible. Cost sharing is not required, and voluntary cost sharing or matching is allowed but not an evaluation factor. Awards are expected to be grants or cooperative agreements, may be cost-reimbursement with no fee, and the government may award all, part, or none of the applications.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Other / needs-review
  • Defense, National Security & Aerospace
Official description from grants.gov

Original Solictation: Closing Date of the FOA FROM: 18 July 2024 TO: 18 July 2029 Cost Ceiling $49M Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC) Agreements Officer Mariah Salazar Agreements Specialist Monique Esquibel-Sena Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil Solicitation Amend 1: Closing Date of the FOA FROM: 18 July 2024 TO: 18 July 2029 Cost Ceiling $49M Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC) Agreements Officer Mariah Salazar Agreements Specialist Monique Esquibel-Sena Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil (Revisions made: Updated information on Mandatory Letter of Intent to allow for interested parties to submit Letters of Intent through Valid Eval portal) Solicitation Amend 2: Closing Date of the FOA FROM: 18 July 2024 TO: 18 July 2029 Cost Ceiling $49M Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC) Agreements Officer Mariah Salazar Agreements Specialist Monique Esquibel-Sena Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil (Revisions made: Added detail for Letter of Intent Evaluation Criteria) Solicitation Amend 3: Closing Date of the FOA FROM: 18 July 2024 TO: 18 July 2029 Cost Ceiling $49M Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC) Agreements Officer Mariah Salazar Alternate Agreements Officer Jennifer Jaramillo Agreements Specialist Monique Esquibel-Sena Brendan Merritt Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil, jennifer.jaramillo@us.af.mil , brendan.merritt@us.af.mil (Revisions made: Changed Letter of Intent review from 10 business days to 30 business days, Added verbiage to Section, D. Review and Selection Process, on Security Risk Review, added Agreement Specialist, Brendan Merritt, brendan.merritt@us.af.mil) Solicitation Amend 4: Closing Date of the FOA FROM: 18 July 2024 TO: 18 July 2029 Cost Ceiling $49M Contracting/Agreements Points of Contact (POC) Agreements Officer Mariah Salazar Alternate Agreements Officer Jennifer Jaramillo Agreements Specialist Monique Esquibel-Sena Emails: mariah.salazar@us.af.mil; monique.esquibel_sena@us.af.mil, jennifer.jaramillo@us.af.mil (Revisions made: Changed Attachment 2 of Solicitation to DoD R&D General Terms and Conditions MARCH 2025. Removed Agreement Specialist, Brendan Merritt, brendan.merritt@us.af.mil)

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Accredited institution of higher education
“This competition is open to accredited U.S. institutions of higher education with degree granting programs in science, mathematics, and/or engineering except for-profit educational institutions.” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 12.800 · Air Force Defense Research Sciences Program

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (12.800), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 243 $150,000 $107,646 – $293,338
FY 2025 454 $200,000 $100,000 – $368,221
FY 2024 469 $300,000 $150,000 – $500,000
FY 2023 889
FY 2022 627
FY 2021 586

For comparison, this notice advertises $0 – $49,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,268 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Nonprofit (85), Business (14), Higher education (1) of 3,268 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (117) · NY (54) · TX (36) · FL (30) · OH (28)
Largest recent awards
  1. ADVANCED ROBOTICS FOR MANUFACTURING INSTITUTE $25,947,714 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE $17,877,600 · FY 2024
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $14,461,537 · FY 2024
  4. CINCINNATI UNIV OF $9,941,902 · FY 2024
  5. UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT AUSTIN $5,100,000 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026