No. 24-528 · U.S. National Science Foundation
EPSCoR Research Infrastructure Improvement (RII): EPSCoR Research Fellows
Not reimbursement-only
“Awards will be made as standard grants.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Apr 13, 2027
- Posted
- Jan 23, 2024
- Last verified
- 6 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds fellows from EPSCoR-eligible institutions to spend up to six months at a premier research facility in the United States or its territories, with salary support for the fellow and travel and living expenses for the PI. It also allows support for one additional trainee for up to six total months, plus some project-related travel and direct costs. Applicants must be single PIs from eligible organizations in RII-eligible jurisdictions, and the PI must be early-career or mid-career track faculty or an eligible non-degree-granting organization employee; co-PIs are not allowed. Awards are standard grants of up to $300,000 for NSF or up to $300,000 for NASA, with an additional $60,000 externally provided by NASA for the NASA track, and the project can run up to 24 months. The host site must be outside the PI’s current institutional system and, for the NASA track, there are additional requirements involving NASA coordination and, in some cases, citizenship or permanent residency.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research is designed to fulfill the mandate of the National Science Foundation (NSF) to promote scientific progress nationwide. NSF EPSCoR facilitates the establishment of partnerships among academic institutions, government, industry, and non-profit sectors that are designed to promote sustainable improvements in a jurisdiction's research infrastructure, Research and Development (R&D) capacity, and R&D competitiveness of EPSCoR-eligible jurisdictions (i.e., states, territories, and commonwealths). Eligibility to participate in the EPSCoR funding opportunities, including the EPSCoR RII: EPSCoR Research Fellows program, is described on the NSF EPSCoR website . EPSCoR RII: EPSCoR Research Fellows directly aligns with the NSF EPSCoR strategic goal of establishing sustainable Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) professional development pathways that advance workforce development and effects engagement in STEM at national and global levels. EPSCoR RII: EPSCoR Research Fellows provides awards to build researchcapacityin institutions and transform the career trajectories of investigators and further develop their individual research potential through collaborations with investigators from the nation’s premier private, governmental, or academic research institutions and/or centers. The fellowship provides opportunities to establish strong collaborations through extended or periodic collaborative visits to a selected host site.Through collaborative research activities with the host site, Fellows will be able to learn new techniques, develop new collaborations, advance existing partnerships, benefit from access to unique equipment and facilities, and/or shift their research toward potentially transformative new directions. The experiences gained through the fellowships are intended to have lasting impacts that will enhance the Fellows’ research trajectories well beyond the award period. The benefits to the Fellows are also expected to improve the research capacity of their institutions and jurisdictions more broadly. EPSCoR Research Infrastructure Improvement (RII): EPSCoR Research Fellows offers the following two tracks: 1)EPSCoR Research Fellows: NSF; and 2) EPSCoR Research Fellows: @NASA While the two tracks have similar goals, EPSCoR Research Fellows: NSF is open to a broad community and EPSCoR Research Fellows: @NASA supports faculty from eligible institutions (See Section"IV. Eligibility Information" for more details) to collaborate with researchers at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) research centers. PIs who are eligible for both tracks may apply for only one track per competition cycle. Proposals from both tracks are submitted to and merit reviewed by NSF. Awards in the EPSCoR Research Fellows: @NASA track are referred to NASA EPSCoR for distribution of additional NASA funds and other needed NASA coordination required for the award. In both tracks, the EPSCoR RII: EPSCoR Research Fellows program provides opportunities for the participation of one trainee, who must be an undergraduate or graduate student enrolled full-time in an accredited degree program, or a postdoctoral researcher from an EPSCoR jurisdiction. Staff members, such as technicians or lab assistants could be considered as trainees when properly justified.
Who can apply
- Others
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 47.041 · Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 604 | $407,608 | $200,000 – $550,000 |
| FY 2025 | 1,537 | $389,666 | $282,237 – $549,621 |
| FY 2024 | 1,761 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,862 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,238 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 2,436 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.
- NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
- VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
- NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
- CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
- NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026
Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 762 | $299,931 | $121,337 – $500,000 |
| FY 2025 | 2,247 | $482,485 | $249,935 – $627,333 |
| FY 2024 | 2,571 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 2,745 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,640 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 2,567 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.
- ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
- WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,980,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026
Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 286 | $384,889 | $140,548 – $582,302 |
| FY 2025 | 920 | $382,104 | $189,831 – $608,490 |
| FY 2024 | 1,251 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,285 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,314 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,504 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,560 — award counts are complete.
- EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $55,190,331 · FY 2025
- TEXAS A & M RESEARCH FOUNDATION $17,635,793 · FY 2025
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,406,902 · FY 2025
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $4,893,936 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 647 | $358,200 | $187,638 – $481,247 |
| FY 2025 | 1,559 | $320,881 | $200,061 – $597,771 |
| FY 2024 | 1,919 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 2,177 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 2,045 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,910 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,257 — award counts are complete.
- THE ALLEN INSTITUTE FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE $18,113,645 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
- CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
- THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 458 | $570,595 | $339,784 – $897,764 |
| FY 2025 | 826 | $501,517 | $345,101 – $859,237 |
| FY 2024 | 1,075 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,137 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,240 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,243 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,979 — award counts are complete.
- RESEARCH FOUNDATION FOR THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, THE $2,999,999 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION, INC. $2,514,000 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
- CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
- THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 89 | $574,558 | $210,470 – $772,299 |
| FY 2025 | 559 | $208,544 | $38,032 – $400,000 |
| FY 2024 | 838 | $193,570 | $86,318 – $399,791 |
| FY 2023 | 869 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 895 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 958 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,208 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
- NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $5,599,998 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024
- NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH INC $3,065,935 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 93 | $743,868 | $218,502 – $1,887,597 |
| FY 2025 | 803 | $475,000 | $242,507 – $1,000,000 |
| FY 2024 | 1,421 | $398,874 | $200,164 – $909,820 |
| FY 2023 | 1,303 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,344 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,191 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.
- GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
- CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
- FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
- MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.079 · Office of International Science and Engineering
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.079), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 12 | $343,574 | $134,406 – $552,844 |
| FY 2025 | 110 | $443,613 | $274,824 – $478,396 |
| FY 2024 | 127 | $344,984 | $257,834 – $512,493 |
| FY 2023 | 128 | $281,771 | $150,000 – $417,907 |
| FY 2022 | 107 | $299,888 | $162,654 – $678,098 |
| FY 2021 | 127 | $299,945 | $200,596 – $398,431 |
- THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $23,201,013 · FY 2023
- AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE $22,676,043 · FY 2022
- INTERNAT HUMAN FRONTIER SCIENCE PROGRAMM $21,236,000 · FY 2025
- GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $20,210,752 · FY 2021
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $20,203,733 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.083 · Integrative Activities
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.083), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 69 | $393,875 | $291,425 – $1,250,907 |
| FY 2025 | 388 | $463,272 | $269,010 – $887,105 |
| FY 2024 | 697 | $452,434 | $270,334 – $807,474 |
| FY 2023 | 700 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 476 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 150 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,480 — award counts are complete.
- GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $23,999,998 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $22,294,445 · FY 2024
- THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $19,998,055 · FY 2024
- UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA $19,982,835 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $12,912,881 · FY 2024
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 199 | $304,926 | $50,000 – $1,149,405 |
| FY 2025 | 908 | $305,000 | $50,000 – $997,540 |
| FY 2024 | 1,040 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,102 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 623 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 268 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,140 — award counts are complete.
- ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
- OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA FAIRBANKS $7,500,000 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT $7,500,000 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced