Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. OFOP0003355 · Bureau of International Narcotics-Law Enforcement

Open

Kenya: Crowd Control and Less-Than-Lethal Riot Response Training

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$500,000 – $1,600,000
Expected awards
~2
Application deadline
Sep 10, 2026 8 days left
Posted
Jul 16, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

The State Department’s INL bureau is seeking a partner to support crowd control and less-than-lethal riot response training for Kenyan law enforcement. The program would fund an assessment of police capabilities and training for commanders, officers, and recruit trainees in public order management, de-escalation, and related riot response skills. Awards are expected to be 1 to 2 cooperative agreements, with a total of $1.6 million available and individual awards ranging from at least $500,000 up to $1.6 million. Applicants must be organizations; eligible types include U.S. and foreign nonprofits, educational institutions, and for-profit organizations, and cost share is recommended but not required. The work is for Kenya only, and proposals may not include procurement of less-than-lethal weapon systems or munitions.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Other
Official description from grants.gov

Strengthen Kenyan police command and control during critical incidents.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 19.705 · Trans-National Crime

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (19.705), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 4 $2,748,829 $1,875,000 – $4,373,244
FY 2025 6 $968,426 $834,213 – $2,500,000
FY 2024 64 $504,233 $57,863 – $1,227,151
FY 2023 72 $1,393 $555 – $781,622
FY 2022 42 $647,395 $2,349 – $1,796,238
FY 2021 51 $999,367 $58,125 – $2,289,768

For comparison, this notice advertises $500,000 – $1,600,000.

Who wins it Individuals (82), Nonprofit (79), Higher education (12) of 239 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states DC (32) · NY (20) · VA (18) · FL (8) · IN (3)
Largest recent awards
  1. NATIONAL CENTER FOR STATE COURTS $38,477,532 · FY 2021
  2. THE GLOBAL INITIATIVE AGAINST TRANSNATIONAL ORGANIZED CRIME $6,951,638 · FY 2023
  3. PANTHERA CORPORATION $6,533,992 · FY 2022
  4. AFRICAN PARKS NETWORK $6,501,368 · FY 2021
  5. VIRUNGA FOUNDATION $6,000,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 13, 2026