Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-HD-27-012 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Limited Competition: Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Centers 2027 (P50 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $800,000
Expected awards
~15
Application deadline
Oct 2, 2026 30 days left
Posted
May 15, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Research & Discovery
  • People with Disabilities
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Disability Services & Assistive Technology
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This is a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for a Limited Competition that will invite application(s) from eligible organization(s) to apply. Please see Section III. Eligibility for additional information. The purpose of this NOFO is to seek applications in a limited competition for the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Centers (IDDRCs). This NOFO invites applications to undergo peer review for research center grants designed to advance the diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and amelioration of intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) and is limited to IDDRCs funded under RFA-HD-20-016 or RFA-HD-21-009. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application(s) will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered for funding.This NOFO seeks applications from institutions that meet the qualifications for a multidisciplinary program of IDD research that will include: 1) 3-4 total Cores that facilitate interdisciplinary and translational research in IDD and its dissemination, and that support IDD-related projects funded by other sources; and 2) at least two and no more than three specific research projects related to one of several areas identified as areas of research need in IDD. Collaborative investigations combining expertise in translational science, biomarker assessment, outcome measure development, tool validation, bioinformatics, and therapeutic development will be encouraged. Funds for the majority of outside research projects using these core facilities come from independent sources including Federal, State, and private organizations. In addition, the Center should include plans for outreach, engagement, and dissemination to the community, including persons with lived experience (PWLE) of disabilities. The duration of these Centers will be 3 years in total.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $800,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026