Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PD-26-1341 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Professional Formation of Engineers

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
No deadline listed
Posted
Apr 17, 2026
Last verified
Today

At a glance

AI summary

The program supports education research to improve how engineers are trained and developed across different settings. It is for projects in engineering education and related formation of engineers, including classrooms, maker spaces, clubs, co-curricular activities, workplaces, internships, community experiences, research labs, and professional development. The text does not state award size, number of awards, or cost-share requirements. It says proposals are accepted anytime and includes no geographic restriction or set-aside.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • Workers, Entrepreneurs & Producers
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
  • STEM Education & Research Training
  • Workforce, Employment & Economic Mobility
Official description from grants.gov

The Professional Formation of Engineers (PFE) initiative integrates engineering research and education to improve and expand the nation’s engineering workforce. PFE is defined as the formal and informal processes and value systems by which people become engineers. The goal of PFE is to create an ethical engineering workforce with a global outlook and the ability to adapt to the rapidly evolving technical environment. This will help build a future engineering workforce with the skills to compete in the global marketplace, support emerging technologies, and grow U.S. industry. PFE supports projects in the ENGINEER program relating to future and current engineers’ training and education in many contexts, including formal classrooms, informal maker spaces, clubs and co-curricular activities, and workplaces. Such training encompasses cooperative education and internships, community-based experiences, and research labs. It also involves many scales of analysis, from mentor/mentee relationships to large-scale online learning and professional development experiences. Engineers must develop and maintain these learning opportunities with clear pathways to and through the profession. Such pathways include formal and informal education, apprenticeships, credentialing, and licensure, and consider relationships with other professionals, technical workers, and community members. Finally, such opportunities include transitions across and within academia and industry. To understand and improve this system requires expertise in both engineering and the social sciences.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Aug 1, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  2. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  3. Jul 21, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  4. Jul 18, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced