No. PAR-27-077 · National Institutes of Health
NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) (R25 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- May 25, 2029
- Posted
- May 5, 2026
- Last verified
- 5 days ago
At a glance
No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The NIH Research Education Program (R25) supports research education activities in the mission areas of the NIH. The overarching goal of this NIH Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) program is to support educational activities that increase understanding of biomedical research among pre-college (pre-kindergarten to grade12) individuals, and to encourage awareness of and continued interest in careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 155 | $429,000 | $306,500 – $571,863 |
| FY 2025 | 277 | $429,000 | $310,295 – $829,259 |
| FY 2024 | 301 | $491,193 | $310,985 – $1,283,003 |
| FY 2023 | 320 | $444,000 | $298,673 – $1,756,575 |
| FY 2022 | 295 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 305 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
- RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
- DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
- TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.172 · Human Genome Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.172), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 59 | $719,909 | $248,971 – $2,040,991 |
| FY 2025 | 100 | $491,802 | $283,764 – $1,360,276 |
| FY 2024 | 180 | $737,013 | $395,019 – $1,360,662 |
| FY 2023 | 179 | $766,801 | $392,035 – $2,341,997 |
| FY 2022 | 175 | $894,953 | $401,519 – $2,830,080 |
| FY 2021 | 215 | $1,999,233 | $431,511 – $5,047,468 |
- BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $26,395,336 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $24,964,130 · FY 2021
- THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $22,977,417 · FY 2021
- THE BROAD INSTITUTE, INC $22,339,977 · FY 2021
- JACKSON LABORATORY $21,311,202 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026
Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 58 | $441,813 | $190,230 – $676,906 |
| FY 2025 | 51 | $472,500 | $321,065 – $1,329,943 |
| FY 2024 | 100 | $562,397 | $286,558 – $1,285,052 |
| FY 2023 | 92 | $695,557 | $380,313 – $1,709,004 |
| FY 2022 | 94 | $715,153 | $419,983 – $1,985,928 |
| FY 2021 | 92 | $1,686,420 | $625,217 – $3,082,386 |
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
- UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
- THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
- THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026
Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 491 | $451,000 | $167,702 – $811,948 |
| FY 2025 | 600 | $731,738 | $320,544 – $1,460,736 |
| FY 2024 | 883 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 898 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 986 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 945 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.
- MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
- OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
- ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
- DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026
Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 428 | $422,523 | $183,034 – $700,682 |
| FY 2025 | 588 | $709,054 | $348,214 – $1,489,059 |
| FY 2024 | 714 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 724 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 740 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 606 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.
- FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
- BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
- REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
- WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 127 | $276,000 | $117,190 – $583,962 |
| FY 2025 | 240 | $555,997 | $296,281 – $1,161,259 |
| FY 2024 | 231 | $589,216 | $349,987 – $1,434,349 |
| FY 2023 | 252 | $652,889 | $409,140 – $1,745,975 |
| FY 2022 | 303 | $691,306 | $420,665 – $2,168,108 |
| FY 2021 | 285 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
- ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
- WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.307 · Minority Health and Health Disparities Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.307), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 40 | $768,076 | $248,928 – $851,492 |
| FY 2025 | 57 | $604,863 | $333,504 – $1,512,644 |
| FY 2024 | 182 | $465,783 | $308,121 – $1,983,267 |
| FY 2023 | 212 | $1,299,549 | $438,782 – $2,594,510 |
| FY 2022 | 249 | $1,408,033 | $444,695 – $2,988,012 |
| FY 2021 | 168 | $2,071,562 | $431,619 – $3,273,896 |
- UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $40,426,614 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $30,744,792 · FY 2021
- CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL LOS ANGELES $27,816,472 · FY 2021
- UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM $27,671,310 · FY 2021
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $24,809,662 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.310 · Trans-NIH Research Support
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.310), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 115 | $582,838 | $418,649 – $860,735 |
| FY 2025 | 401 | $786,876 | $385,000 – $1,467,198 |
| FY 2024 | 455 | $1,174,898 | $558,715 – $2,057,532 |
| FY 2023 | 643 | $1,437,358 | $1,200,000 – $2,578,153 |
| FY 2022 | 666 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 689 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,969 — award counts are complete.
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $34,424,926 · FY 2023
- THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $33,014,143 · FY 2023
- MAYO CLINIC JACKSONVILLE (A NONPROFIT CORPORATION) $17,574,818 · FY 2024
- TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $16,308,508 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS MEDICAL CENTER RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC. $14,064,599 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026
Assistance listing 93.313 · NIH Office of Research on Women's Health
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.313), not just this notice.
No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026
Assistance listing 93.855 · Allergy and Infectious Diseases Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.855), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1,817 | $295,722 | $146,402 – $737,210 |
| FY 2025 | 1,596 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1,720 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,711 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,576 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,857 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,277 — award counts are complete.
- SCRIPPS RESEARCH INSTITUTE $3,679,976 · FY 2026
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,499,366 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $3,414,775 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $3,389,992 · FY 2026
- ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $3,204,071 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1,048 | $420,000 | $325,870 – $487,506 |
| FY 2025 | 1,115 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1,171 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,383 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,574 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,321 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
- THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 795 | $493,972 | $248,999 – $713,195 |
| FY 2025 | 1,033 | $643,089 | $467,538 – $1,733,010 |
| FY 2024 | 1,560 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,539 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,715 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,595 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
- THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
- SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
- TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026