Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 25-533 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Findable Accessible Interoperable Reusable Open Science

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~10
Application deadline
Apr 14, 2027
Posted
Jan 7, 2025
Last verified
3 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds projects that advance FAIR research data management and open science, including data sharing, curation, interoperability, sustainability, and related cyberinfrastructure across disciplines. Eligible applicants include U.S. institutions of higher education, U.S. non-profit non-academic organizations, tribal nations, and some other federal agencies and FFRDCs. Awards are standard continuing grants, with an expected 4 to 10 awards total and a total funding range of $2.4 million to $6 million; individual research requests may be up to $600,000 for up to 3 years and no more than $200,000 per year. There are no cost-share requirements stated, and each individual may participate on only one FAIROS submission per deadline each year.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

The FAIROS Program seeks to support a broad range of transformative open science activities including but not limited to i.) Research, education, and socio-technical cyberinfrastructure development capacities that advance sustainable multi-disciplinary findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable (FAIR) research data management (RDM) and open science capabilities, ii.) Piloting new models of scientific communication and publication that improve efficiency and accessibility, iii.) Developing FAIROS data portals, research data commons, RDM as a national service, and iv.) Lowering barriers to accessing, curating, integrating, linking, managing, sharing, and storing data across many disciplinary domains, irrespective of data size. The program supports innovation across the cyberinfrastructure (CI) ecosystem to address accessibility, data curation, research data management, discoverability, reliability, reproducibility, preservation, sustainability, and utility of research products, including data software, and code, developed as part of funded projects. FAIROS proposals must select one of two tracks to focus on, either: 1) Disciplinary Improvements to targeted scientific communities, or 2) Cross-Cutting Improvements that apply to many or most scientific disciplines. In the case of proposals focused on Disciplinary Improvements, it is strongly recommended that prospective PIs contact a program officer from the list of Cognizant Program Officers in the directorate closest to the major disciplinary impact of the proposed work to ascertain that the scientific focus and budget of the proposed work are appropriate for this solicitation. In the case of proposals focused on Cross-Cutting Improvements, it is strongly recommended that prospective PIs contact the cognizant program officer from the Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (OAC). After selecting either Disciplinary Improvements or Cross-Cutting Improvements in which to focus research, the proposal must include the kinds of activities relevant to the selected track. Standard research proposals are the only type of proposal accepted in response to this solicitation. The FAIROS Program is undertaken in support of the US NSF Public Access Initiative. For more information on the US NSF Public Access Initiative please visit https://new.nsf.gov/public-access .

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.041 · Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.041), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 604 $407,608 $200,000 – $550,000
FY 2025 1,537 $389,666 $282,237 – $549,621
FY 2024 1,761
FY 2023 1,862
FY 2022 2,238
FY 2021 2,436

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,406), Business (952), Individuals (3) of 10,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states TX (94) · CA (88) · MI (57) · NY (56) · PA (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY $7,674,141 · FY 2026
  2. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $4,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIVERSITY $3,848,048 · FY 2025
  4. CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $3,000,000 · FY 2025
  5. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $3,000,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 19, 2026

Assistance listing 47.049 · Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.049), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 762 $299,931 $121,337 – $500,000
FY 2025 2,247 $482,485 $249,935 – $627,333
FY 2024 2,571
FY 2023 2,745
FY 2022 2,640
FY 2021 2,567

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 13,532 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (12,621), Individuals (465), Business (248) of 13,532 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (88) · MA (64) · TX (52) · PA (44)
Largest recent awards
  1. ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITIES FOR RESEARCH IN ASTRONOMY, INC. $19,041,217 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $7,039,283 · FY 2026
  3. WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY RESEARCH CORPORATION $5,950,041 · FY 2026
  4. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,980,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $4,950,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 286 $384,889 $140,548 – $582,302
FY 2025 920 $382,104 $189,831 – $608,490
FY 2024 1,251
FY 2023 1,285
FY 2022 1,314
FY 2021 1,504

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,560 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,801), Business (430), Individuals (137) of 6,560 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · MA (88) · NY (70) · TX (62) · CO (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $55,190,331 · FY 2025
  2. TEXAS A & M RESEARCH FOUNDATION $17,635,793 · FY 2025
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,406,902 · FY 2025
  5. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $4,893,936 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.070 · Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.070), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 647 $358,200 $187,638 – $481,247
FY 2025 1,559 $320,881 $200,061 – $597,771
FY 2024 1,919
FY 2023 2,177
FY 2022 2,045
FY 2021 1,910

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,257 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (9,892), Business (180), State government (6) of 10,257 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (109) · NY (68) · MA (58) · FL (41) · PA (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE ALLEN INSTITUTE FOR ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE $18,113,645 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $11,000,000 · FY 2026
  3. CARNEGIE-MELLON UNIVERSITY $10,000,000 · FY 2026
  4. THE MORGRIDGE INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH, INC. $9,000,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $9,000,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.074 · Biological Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.074), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 458 $570,595 $339,784 – $897,764
FY 2025 826 $501,517 $345,101 – $859,237
FY 2024 1,075
FY 2023 1,137
FY 2022 1,240
FY 2021 1,243

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,979 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,952), Business (476), Individuals (460) of 5,979 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (111) · NY (70) · TX (46) · PA (31) · MA (25)
Largest recent awards
  1. RESEARCH FOUNDATION FOR THE STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, THE $2,999,999 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA RESEARCH FOUNDATION, INC. $2,514,000 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK $2,432,713 · FY 2025
  4. CLEMSON UNIVERSITY $2,400,000 · FY 2025
  5. THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE UNIVERSITY $2,200,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 89 $574,558 $210,470 – $772,299
FY 2025 559 $208,544 $38,032 – $400,000
FY 2024 838 $193,570 $86,318 – $399,791
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,208 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,813), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,208 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (104) · NY (88) · MA (74) · TX (73) · IL (32)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $5,599,998 · FY 2024
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024
  5. NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH INC $3,065,935 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 93 $743,868 $218,502 – $1,887,597
FY 2025 803 $475,000 $242,507 – $1,000,000
FY 2024 1,421 $398,874 $200,164 – $909,820
FY 2023 1,303
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,466), Business (351), Tribal government (18) of 6,155 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (93) · TX (67) · NY (65) · NC (49) · IL (37)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
  2. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  4. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  5. MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.079 · Office of International Science and Engineering

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.079), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 12 $343,574 $134,406 – $552,844
FY 2025 110 $443,613 $274,824 – $478,396
FY 2024 127 $344,984 $257,834 – $512,493
FY 2023 128 $281,771 $150,000 – $417,907
FY 2022 107 $299,888 $162,654 – $678,098
FY 2021 127 $299,945 $200,596 – $398,431
Who wins it Higher education (575), Business (21), Individuals (2) of 611 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (58) · NY (46) · TX (37) · PA (24) · FL (14)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $23,201,013 · FY 2023
  2. AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE $22,676,043 · FY 2022
  3. INTERNAT HUMAN FRONTIER SCIENCE PROGRAMM $21,236,000 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $20,210,752 · FY 2021
  5. DUKE UNIVERSITY $20,203,733 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.083 · Integrative Activities

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.083), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 69 $393,875 $291,425 – $1,250,907
FY 2025 388 $463,272 $269,010 – $887,105
FY 2024 697 $452,434 $270,334 – $807,474
FY 2023 700
FY 2022 476
FY 2021 150

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,480 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,352), Business (81), Individuals (8) of 2,480 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states AL (60) · LA (48) · MS (42) · OK (24) · SC (24)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $23,999,998 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $22,294,445 · FY 2024
  3. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $19,998,055 · FY 2024
  4. UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA $19,982,835 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $12,912,881 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Assistance listing 47.084 · NSF Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.084), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 199 $304,926 $50,000 – $1,149,405
FY 2025 908 $305,000 $50,000 – $997,540
FY 2024 1,040
FY 2023 1,102
FY 2022 623
FY 2021 268

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,140 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,266), Business (1,777), Individuals (2) of 4,140 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (138) · NY (79) · TX (68) · MA (66) · CO (31)
Largest recent awards
  1. ACTIVATE GLOBAL INC $14,978,985 · FY 2025
  2. OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  3. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA FAIRBANKS $7,500,000 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CONNECTICUT $7,500,000 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced