Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-27-072 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Bioengineering Research Grants (BRG) (R01 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $500,000
Expected awards
~50
Application deadline
Jul 5, 2029
Posted
May 4, 2026
Last verified
8 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Technology & Product Development
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Engineering, Physical & Mathematical Sciences
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) encourages collaborations between the life and physical sciences that: 1) apply a multidisciplinary bioengineering approach to the solution of a biomedical problem; and 2) integrate, optimize, validate, translate or otherwise accelerate the adoption of promising tools, methods, and techniques for a specific research or clinical problem in basic, translational, or clinical science and practice. An application may propose design-directed, developmental, discovery-driven, or hypothesis-driven research and is appropriate for small teams applying an integrative approach to increase our understanding of and solve problems in biological, clinical, or translational science. This NOFO will support clinical trials that test functionality or validate performance in the chosen setting. This NOFO is not intended to support conventional clinical trials that lack translation as the primary motivation. Applications that propose phase III clinical trials in any area of research are not sought by and will not be supported through this NOFO. This NOFO does not support commercial production.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 167 $596,996 $422,899 – $685,984
FY 2025 233 $743,438 $397,772 – $1,287,560
FY 2024 331 $1,232,605 $403,858 – $1,928,145
FY 2023 333 $1,580,141 $399,888 – $2,324,497
FY 2022 371
FY 2021 317

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,176), Nonprofit (458), Business (49) of 1,752 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (124) · CA (100) · MA (89) · TX (82) · NC (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
  3. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.394 · Cancer Detection and Diagnosis Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.394), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 137 $595,012 $414,585 – $662,610
FY 2025 184 $726,875 $399,923 – $1,297,708
FY 2024 215 $1,129,641 $414,953 – $1,862,878
FY 2023 268 $1,754,736 $438,924 – $2,398,100
FY 2022 277 $2,036,627 $596,368 – $3,077,027
FY 2021 269

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,350 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (836), Nonprofit (284), Business (196) of 1,350 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (184) · NY (79) · MA (78) · TX (66) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $8,347,015 · FY 2022
  2. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $6,630,183 · FY 2022
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $6,618,085 · FY 2022
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,181,895 · FY 2022
  5. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $5,771,926 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.395 · Cancer Treatment Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.395), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 316 $565,152 $413,691 – $664,926
FY 2025 435 $677,787 $402,400 – $1,233,798
FY 2024 488 $1,140,586 $408,966 – $1,897,871
FY 2023 522
FY 2022 519
FY 2021 517

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,797 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,714), Nonprofit (603), Business (391) of 2,797 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (132) · NY (107) · TX (87) · MA (66) · PA (59)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $6,902,371 · FY 2024
  2. VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY $5,325,147 · FY 2024
  3. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,597,865 · FY 2024
  4. PRIVO TECHNOLOGIES, INC. $4,499,992 · FY 2024
  5. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $4,234,248 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.396 · Cancer Biology Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.396), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 289 $565,909 $400,614 – $660,808
FY 2025 261 $975,084 $432,098 – $1,309,674
FY 2024 333 $1,287,771 $456,103 – $1,958,901
FY 2023 383 $1,541,433 $747,000 – $2,025,032
FY 2022 401
FY 2021 396

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,063 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,417), Nonprofit (511), Business (47) of 2,063 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (147) · CA (122) · TX (95) · MA (74) · PA (42)
Largest recent awards
  1. RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY $11,640,000 · FY 2024
  2. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $7,902,036 · FY 2023
  3. SANFORD BURNHAM PREBYS MEDICAL DISCOVERY INSTITUTE $6,972,263 · FY 2024
  4. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,522,226 · FY 2024
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $5,035,979 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.399 · Cancer Control

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.399), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 1 $2,490,206 $2,490,206 – $2,490,206
FY 2024 13 $3,165,783 $804,361 – $3,227,950
FY 2023 7 $1,121,797 $947,583 – $1,353,065
FY 2022 14 $4,573,965 $2,523,875 – $6,154,995
FY 2021 5 $3,186,801 $2,957,140 – $3,199,301

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Who wins it Higher education (28), Nonprofit (8) of 40 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (5) · WA (5) · MI (3) · NY (3) · GA (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE $16,730,455 · FY 2021
  2. VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE & STATE UNIVERSITY $8,183,001 · FY 2022
  3. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $7,696,898 · FY 2022
  4. THE INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,471,989 · FY 2022
  5. WEILL MEDICAL COLLEGE OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY $4,655,326 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 189 $440,263 $132,837 – $633,742
FY 2025 309 $464,903 $260,661 – $1,026,742
FY 2024 408 $630,967 $342,920 – $1,431,708
FY 2023 401 $771,099 $422,359 – $1,867,311
FY 2022 391
FY 2021 394

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,564), Nonprofit (300), Business (168) of 2,092 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (182) · NY (96) · MA (90) · MD (48) · TX (48)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
  4. ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
  5. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026