Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-DC-27-004 · National Institutes of Health

Open

BRAIN Initiative: Exploratory Research Opportunities Using Invasive Neural Recording and Stimulating Technologies in the Human Brain (R61 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $700,000
Expected awards
~5
Application deadline
Feb 11, 2027
Posted
May 4, 2026
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Planning & Coordination
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

Invasive surgical procedures in humans offer the unique opportunity to intracranially record and stimulate neuronal activity within precisely localized brain structures, enabling high-impact human neuroscience investigations. This NOFO seeks exploratory research projects, from newly formed or established multi-disciplinary teams, to understand how dynamic activity of single cells and ensembles of neurons in spatially organized networks gives rise to the internal states we experience as sensations, perceptions, emotions, thoughts, and memories, and to observable motor and social behaviors. The research should be proposed as exploratory research and planning activities to establish feasibility and early-stage development that, if successful, would support, enable, and/or lay the groundwork for a potential, subsequent research project grant applications using invasive neural recording and stimulation technologies in the human brain. Projects should maximize opportunities to conduct innovative in vivo human neuroscience research made available by direct access to the brain from invasive surgical procedures. Projects should employ approaches guided by specified theoretical constructs and by quantitative, mechanistic models where appropriate. Recipients will join a consortium working group, coordinated by the NIH, to identify consensus standards of practice, including neuroethical considerations, to collect and provide data for ancillary studies, and to aggregate and standardize data for dissemination among the wider scientific community.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.173 · Research Related to Deafness and Communication Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.173), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 170 $416,419 $134,042 – $648,731
FY 2025 238 $418,797 $187,647 – $1,008,401
FY 2024 283 $464,268 $152,978 – $1,268,772
FY 2023 260 $689,002 $272,758 – $1,868,608
FY 2022 286 $570,000 $145,264 – $2,113,099
FY 2021 246

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,483 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,127), Nonprofit (192), Business (83) of 1,483 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states MA (107) · CA (101) · NY (89) · PA (78) · MD (30)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $4,621,171 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FOR MEDICAL SCIENCES $4,589,310 · FY 2023
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $4,474,844 · FY 2022
  4. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $3,863,432 · FY 2022
  5. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $3,579,023 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 58 $441,813 $190,230 – $676,906
FY 2025 51 $472,500 $321,065 – $1,329,943
FY 2024 100 $562,397 $286,558 – $1,285,052
FY 2023 92 $695,557 $380,313 – $1,709,004
FY 2022 94 $715,153 $419,983 – $1,985,928
FY 2021 92 $1,686,420 $625,217 – $3,082,386

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Who wins it Higher education (342), Nonprofit (97), Business (33) of 487 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (77) · MA (59) · NY (29) · NC (12) · IL (11)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
  3. DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
  4. THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
  5. THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.286 · Discovery and Applied Research for Technological Innovations to Improve Human Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.286), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 127 $276,000 $117,190 – $583,962
FY 2025 240 $555,997 $296,281 – $1,161,259
FY 2024 231 $589,216 $349,987 – $1,434,349
FY 2023 252 $652,889 $409,140 – $1,745,975
FY 2022 303 $691,306 $420,665 – $2,168,108
FY 2021 285

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,438 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,055), Nonprofit (237), Business (99) of 1,438 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (133) · MA (128) · NY (69) · PA (27) · NC (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS $6,543,053 · FY 2022
  2. ALLEN INSTITUTE $6,281,935 · FY 2023
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,888,124 · FY 2024
  4. WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, THE $4,858,373 · FY 2024
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, THE $4,329,771 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 189 $440,263 $132,837 – $633,742
FY 2025 309 $464,903 $260,661 – $1,026,742
FY 2024 408 $630,967 $342,920 – $1,431,708
FY 2023 401 $771,099 $422,359 – $1,867,311
FY 2022 391
FY 2021 394

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $700,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,564), Nonprofit (300), Business (168) of 2,092 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (182) · NY (96) · MA (90) · MD (48) · TX (48)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
  4. ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
  5. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026