Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-24-251 · Food and Drug Administration

Open

Animal and Veterinary Innovation Centers (U18)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Up to $1,250,000
Expected awards
~8
Application deadline
May 12, 2028
Posted
Jun 20, 2024
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds cooperative agreements for academic research institutions to establish Animal and Veterinary Innovation Centers that address FDA veterinary regulatory science priorities. The work must be multi-year research related to new animal drugs, animal food, or new products and technologies that could support FDA-regulated animal and veterinary products, and clinical trials are not allowed. Applicants may be public or private higher education institutions in the United States; foreign organizations, foreign components, and non-U.S. entities are not eligible. FDA expects up to 5 awards per funding cycle, with up to 5 years of support and yearly total cost limits ranging from $1,000,000 in year 1 to $2,000,000 in year 5. No cost sharing is required.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Agriculture
  • Consumer Protection
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Research & Discovery
  • Technology & Product Development
  • Agriculture, Food Systems & Food Safety
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Public Health, Prevention & Nutrition
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) is to solicit applications for inclusion as Animal and Veterinary Innovation Centers, which are intended to form long-term partnerships to address priority areas for FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM). This includes CVM developing cooperative agreement(s) with academic research institutions (public and private) to: 1. Drive research that supports the development of interventions to prevent, control, or eliminate Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) virus in animals, or interventions that reduce the circulation of the virus in the ecosystem. Work may also include other emerging zoonotic disease threats or One Health issues in future years. 2. Drive research that supports the development of intentional genomic alternations in animals and the advancement of regulatory science in this field, with a focus on intentional genomic alternations that support agricultural resilience, food security, animal health, or public health. 3. Drive research that supports the development of products for minor species, minor uses in major species (dogs, cats, horses, cattle, pigs, chickens, and turkeys) and other unmet veterinary medical needs in major species that create a significant animal or public health burden.

Who can apply

  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.103 · Food and Drug Administration Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.103), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 2 $674,557 $362,279 – $986,836
FY 2025 128 $449,605 $217,500 – $750,000
FY 2024 95 $350,000 $101,736 – $1,005,321
FY 2023 176 $570,625 $154,967 – $997,677
FY 2022 136 $292,635 $128,510 – $1,080,535
FY 2021 131 $1,247,596 $218,607 – $2,622,614

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $1,250,000.

Who wins it Higher education (212), State government (196), Nonprofit (141) of 668 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states PA (45) · CA (43) · NY (28) · MD (25) · MA (20)
Largest recent awards
  1. NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH ASSOCIATION $36,000,000 · FY 2021
  2. FOOD & AGRICULTURE, CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF $24,423,552 · FY 2021
  3. ASSOCIATION OF FOOD & DRUG OFFICIALS $13,305,546 · FY 2022
  4. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $12,840,004 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $7,424,773 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026