Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-OD-25-011 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Animal and Biological Material Resource Centers (P40 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~2
Application deadline
Sep 26, 2028
Posted
Dec 5, 2025
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) encourages grant applications for Animal and Biological Material Resource Centers. These Centers provide support for special colonies of laboratory animals and associated services, as well as other resources such as informatics tools, reagents, cultures (cells, tissues, and organs) and genetic stocks that serve the biomedical research community in a variety of research areas on a local, regional, and national basis. The goal of projects supported by this NOFO is to provide research resources that facilitate optimization and enhancement of scientific rigor, transparency, and experimental reproducibility of biomedical research. Proposed Animal and Biological Material Resource Centers must have broad application to multiple NIH Institutes or Centers (ICs) to align with the ORIP"s NIH-wide mission (https://orip.nih.gov/about-orip). This funding opportunity is designed to support both continuation of existing resources and to develop new ones when appropriate. Of special interest of the announcement is a requirement of the Center"s close coordination with efforts to develop new approach methodologies (NAMs) that complement traditional animal-based research. These include cell culture, organoids, computational models, and microphysiological systems. Applied Research Component should include studies to generate comparative data to increase applicability of NAMs and promote integration of the most predictive human disease models. Prior to preparing an application, all applicants are strongly encouraged to consult with Scientific/Research staff to be advised on appropriateness of the intended resource plans for this program, competitiveness of a potential application, and ORIP's program priorities.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.351 · Research Infrastructure Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.351), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 139 $607,409 $418,448 – $813,252
FY 2025 168 $596,737 $349,073 – $1,388,571
FY 2024 188 $571,633 $349,563 – $966,019
FY 2023 197 $590,126 $340,122 – $1,345,699
FY 2022 223 $571,482 $334,100 – $755,338
FY 2021 163 $589,686 $399,709 – $999,500

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,078 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (818), Nonprofit (186), Business (39) of 1,078 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (125) · NY (89) · MA (80) · TX (64) · PA (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $16,992,533 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI SYSTEM $6,307,489 · FY 2023
  3. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $5,213,369 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS $4,023,900 · FY 2023
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA IRVINE $3,694,446 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026