Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 24-529 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Innovations in Graduate Education (IGE) Program

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$300,000 – $1,000,000
Expected awards
~20
Application deadline
Mar 25, 2027
Posted
Jan 24, 2024
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

NSF’s Innovations in Graduate Education program funds projects that test new approaches to STEM graduate education and research on how graduate education policies and interventions affect student outcomes. Applicants can be U.S.-based two- and four-year colleges and universities, certain U.S. nonprofit research and education organizations, and federally recognized Tribal Nations; there are no PI restrictions. Track 1 awards may be up to $500,000 over up to 3 years, and Track 2 awards may be up to $1,000,000 over up to 5 years. NSF expects about 16 to 20 awards and listed $14 million in anticipated FY 2024 funding. Organizations may submit up to 2 proposals, and each person may serve as PI or co-PI on only 1 proposal per annual competition.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

The Innovations in Graduate Education (IGE) Program is designed to encourage development and implementation of bold, new, and potentially transformative approaches to STEM graduate education training. The program seeks proposals that a) explore ways forgraduate students in STEM master’s and doctoral degree programs to develop the skills, knowledge, and competencies needed to pursue a range of STEM careers, or b) support research on the graduate education system and outcomes of systemic interventions and policies. IGE projects are intendedto generate the knowledge required for the customization, implementation, and broader adoption of potentially transformative approaches to graduate education. The program supports piloting, testing, and validating novel models or activities and examining systemic innovations with high potential to enrich and extend the knowledge base on effective graduate education approaches. The program addresses both workforce development, emphasizing broad participation, and institutional capacity-building needs in graduate education. Strategic collaborations with the private sector, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), government agencies, national laboratories, field stations, teaching and learning centers, informal science organizations, and academic partners are encouraged.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.076 · STEM Education (formerly Education and Human Resources)

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.076), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 93 $743,868 $218,502 – $1,887,597
FY 2025 803 $475,000 $242,507 – $1,000,000
FY 2024 1,421 $398,874 $200,164 – $909,820
FY 2023 1,303
FY 2022 1,344
FY 2021 1,191

For comparison, this notice advertises $300,000 – $1,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,155 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,466), Business (351), Tribal government (18) of 6,155 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (93) · TX (67) · NY (65) · NC (49) · IL (37)
Largest recent awards
  1. GEORGIA TECH RESEARCH CORP $8,990,942 · FY 2025
  2. THE REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  3. CAL POLY POMONA FOUNDATION INC $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  4. FLORIDA A & M UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025
  5. MONTANA TECHNOLOGICAL UNIVERSITY $7,500,000 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced