Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-OD-27-008 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Maximizing the Scientific Value of Data Generated by the Environmental Influences on Child Health Outcomes (ECHO) Program: Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) Individual Postdoctoral Fellowship (F32)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~8
Application deadline
Dec 2, 2026
Posted
May 28, 2026
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Children, Youth & Families
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Maternal, Child & Reproductive Health
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This NOFO seeks to advance research and training in high-priority areas of child health by stimulating the use of Environmental Influences on Child Health Outcomes (ECHO) Cohort data by postdoctoral fellows from relevant scientific disciplines. This RFA will provide opportunities for fellows to study child health outcomes through the analysis of ECHO's large longitudinal data sets within the NICHD Data and Specimen Hub (DASH) repository. ECHO's DASH dataset integrates de-identified longitudinal data from more than 71,000 participants across the U.S. Prenatal and child exposure data include physical, chemical, social, behavioral, and biological factors. ECHO's five primary pediatric outcome areas are pre-, peri-, and postnatal outcomes, upper and lower airway, obesity, neurodevelopment, and positive health.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.121 · Oral Diseases and Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.121), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 155 $429,000 $306,500 – $571,863
FY 2025 277 $429,000 $310,295 – $829,259
FY 2024 301 $491,193 $310,985 – $1,283,003
FY 2023 320 $444,000 $298,673 – $1,756,575
FY 2022 295
FY 2021 305

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,653 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,224), Nonprofit (242), Business (71) of 1,653 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · PA (83) · MA (82) · NY (70) · TX (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $6,128,166 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,961,133 · FY 2023
  3. RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK $4,002,156 · FY 2023
  4. DANA-FARBER CANCER INSTITUTE, INC. $3,742,682 · FY 2025
  5. TRUSTEES OF INDIANA UNIVERSITY $3,736,064 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 16, 2026

Assistance listing 93.307 · Minority Health and Health Disparities Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.307), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 40 $768,076 $248,928 – $851,492
FY 2025 57 $604,863 $333,504 – $1,512,644
FY 2024 182 $465,783 $308,121 – $1,983,267
FY 2023 212 $1,299,549 $438,782 – $2,594,510
FY 2022 249 $1,408,033 $444,695 – $2,988,012
FY 2021 168 $2,071,562 $431,619 – $3,273,896
Who wins it Higher education (660), Nonprofit (111), Business (97) of 908 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (114) · NY (92) · MA (45) · TX (45) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $40,426,614 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $30,744,792 · FY 2021
  3. CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL LOS ANGELES $27,816,472 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM $27,671,310 · FY 2021
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $24,809,662 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.310 · Trans-NIH Research Support

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.310), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 115 $582,838 $418,649 – $860,735
FY 2025 401 $786,876 $385,000 – $1,467,198
FY 2024 455 $1,174,898 $558,715 – $2,057,532
FY 2023 643 $1,437,358 $1,200,000 – $2,578,153
FY 2022 666
FY 2021 689

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,969 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,212), Nonprofit (582), Business (34) of 2,969 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · MA (103) · NY (93) · PA (63) · MI (21)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $34,424,926 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $33,014,143 · FY 2023
  3. MAYO CLINIC JACKSONVILLE (A NONPROFIT CORPORATION) $17,574,818 · FY 2024
  4. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $16,308,508 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS MEDICAL CENTER RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC. $14,064,599 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.313 · NIH Office of Research on Women's Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.313), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026