Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PA-27-101 · National Institutes of Health

Open

NIH Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Phase IIB Strategic Breakthrough Award (Parent [R44] Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers Cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Apr 5, 2029
Posted
May 28, 2026
Last verified
6 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Technology & Product Development
  • Other / needs-review
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The NIH Phase IIB Strategic Breakthrough award bridges the funding gap between the end of a Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) and Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) Phase II award and commercialization. The Phase IIB Strategic Breakthrough provides previously funded NIH SBIR or STTR projects additional support for later-stage research and development (R&D).

Who can apply

  • Small businesses
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.233 · National Center on Sleep Disorders Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.233), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.242 · Mental Health Research Grants

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.242), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 491 $451,000 $167,702 – $811,948
FY 2025 600 $731,738 $320,544 – $1,460,736
FY 2024 883
FY 2023 898
FY 2022 986
FY 2021 945

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,803 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,532), Nonprofit (816), Business (215) of 4,803 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (166) · NY (127) · MA (104) · PA (79) · IL (22)
Largest recent awards
  1. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $21,714,815 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $19,515,757 · FY 2025
  3. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $18,270,924 · FY 2025
  4. DUKE UNIVERSITY $15,039,330 · FY 2025
  5. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $12,007,972 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.273 · Alcohol Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.273), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 100 $308,491 $157,932 – $601,291
FY 2025 175 $440,566 $194,934 – $1,114,948
FY 2024 237 $420,927 $153,632 – $1,110,810
FY 2023 327 $619,032 $350,328 – $1,806,361
FY 2022 314 $897,120 $369,477 – $2,547,224
FY 2021 274

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,427 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,103), Nonprofit (187), Business (75) of 1,427 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (118) · NC (58) · NY (57) · PA (41) · TX (40)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $36,249,682 · FY 2022
  2. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $9,079,530 · FY 2022
  3. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA $6,335,676 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY $5,361,769 · FY 2024
  5. LOHOCLA RESEARCH CORP $5,128,513 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 6, 2026

Assistance listing 93.307 · Minority Health and Health Disparities Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.307), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 40 $768,076 $248,928 – $851,492
FY 2025 57 $604,863 $333,504 – $1,512,644
FY 2024 182 $465,783 $308,121 – $1,983,267
FY 2023 212 $1,299,549 $438,782 – $2,594,510
FY 2022 249 $1,408,033 $444,695 – $2,988,012
FY 2021 168 $2,071,562 $431,619 – $3,273,896
Who wins it Higher education (660), Nonprofit (111), Business (97) of 908 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (114) · NY (92) · MA (45) · TX (45) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $40,426,614 · FY 2021
  2. UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL $30,744,792 · FY 2021
  3. CHILDREN'S HOSPITAL LOS ANGELES $27,816,472 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM $27,671,310 · FY 2021
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $24,809,662 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.313 · NIH Office of Research on Women's Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.313), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026

Assistance listing 93.350 · National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.350), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 106 $427,386 $166,500 – $755,137
FY 2025 110 $427,602 $178,000 – $1,833,042
FY 2024 137 $463,150 $176,720 – $2,139,478
FY 2023 131 $363,189 $155,500 – $3,024,000
FY 2022 106 $438,741 $156,117 – $1,906,971
FY 2021 76 $324,197 $28,713 – $1,276,814
Who wins it Higher education (344), Business (161), Nonprofit (137) of 666 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (74) · NY (48) · NC (38) · MA (36) · PA (28)
Largest recent awards
  1. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $46,369,962 · FY 2022
  2. TRUSTEES OF TUFTS COLLEGE $44,451,810 · FY 2023
  3. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $43,319,327 · FY 2023
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $39,816,036 · FY 2023
  5. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $39,349,638 · FY 2021

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026

Assistance listing 93.351 · Research Infrastructure Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.351), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 139 $607,409 $418,448 – $813,252
FY 2025 168 $596,737 $349,073 – $1,388,571
FY 2024 188 $571,633 $349,563 – $966,019
FY 2023 197 $590,126 $340,122 – $1,345,699
FY 2022 223 $571,482 $334,100 – $755,338
FY 2021 163 $589,686 $399,709 – $999,500

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,078 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (818), Nonprofit (186), Business (39) of 1,078 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (125) · NY (89) · MA (80) · TX (64) · PA (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $16,992,533 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI SYSTEM $6,307,489 · FY 2023
  3. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $5,213,369 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS $4,023,900 · FY 2023
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA IRVINE $3,694,446 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026

Assistance listing 93.393 · Cancer Cause and Prevention Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.393), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 167 $596,996 $422,899 – $685,984
FY 2025 233 $743,438 $397,772 – $1,287,560
FY 2024 331 $1,232,605 $403,858 – $1,928,145
FY 2023 333 $1,580,141 $399,888 – $2,324,497
FY 2022 371
FY 2021 317

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,752 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,176), Nonprofit (458), Business (49) of 1,752 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (124) · CA (100) · MA (89) · TX (82) · NC (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. HEALTH RESEARCH, INC. $8,975,418 · FY 2023
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $7,529,016 · FY 2024
  3. WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY HEALTH SCIENCES $7,411,948 · FY 2023
  4. VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $7,120,874 · FY 2023
  5. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $6,827,635 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.394 · Cancer Detection and Diagnosis Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.394), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 137 $595,012 $414,585 – $662,610
FY 2025 184 $726,875 $399,923 – $1,297,708
FY 2024 215 $1,129,641 $414,953 – $1,862,878
FY 2023 268 $1,754,736 $438,924 – $2,398,100
FY 2022 277 $2,036,627 $596,368 – $3,077,027
FY 2021 269

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,350 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (836), Nonprofit (284), Business (196) of 1,350 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (184) · NY (79) · MA (78) · TX (66) · PA (26)
Largest recent awards
  1. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $8,347,015 · FY 2022
  2. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $6,630,183 · FY 2022
  3. THE JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY $6,618,085 · FY 2022
  4. SLOAN-KETTERING INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH $6,181,895 · FY 2022
  5. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $5,771,926 · FY 2022

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 14, 2026

Assistance listing 93.395 · Cancer Treatment Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.395), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 316 $565,152 $413,691 – $664,926
FY 2025 435 $677,787 $402,400 – $1,233,798
FY 2024 488 $1,140,586 $408,966 – $1,897,871
FY 2023 522
FY 2022 519
FY 2021 517

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,797 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,714), Nonprofit (603), Business (391) of 2,797 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (132) · NY (107) · TX (87) · MA (66) · PA (59)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $6,902,371 · FY 2024
  2. VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY $5,325,147 · FY 2024
  3. MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY $4,597,865 · FY 2024
  4. PRIVO TECHNOLOGIES, INC. $4,499,992 · FY 2024
  5. FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER CENTER $4,234,248 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.837 · Cardiovascular Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.837), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 910 $406,108 $121,423 – $769,962
FY 2025 1,358 $638,002 $257,444 – $1,262,955
FY 2024 1,513
FY 2023 1,478
FY 2022 1,536
FY 2021 1,389

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,184 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,706), Nonprofit (1,550), Business (596) of 8,184 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (135) · MA (108) · NY (78) · PA (65) · OH (43)
Largest recent awards
  1. CHILDRENS HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $6,452,040 · FY 2026
  2. KAISER FOUNDATION HOSPITALS $3,918,561 · FY 2025
  3. ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $3,605,083 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH - OF THE COMMONWEALTH SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION $3,229,552 · FY 2026
  5. NORTHERN CALIFORNIA INSTITUTE FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, INC. $3,002,716 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 22, 2026

Assistance listing 93.838 · Lung Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.838), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.839 · Blood Diseases and Resources Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.839), not just this notice.

No grants-family awards recorded for this program since FY 2021 — it may be new, renamed, or not yet reported to USASpending.

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.840 · Translation and Implementation Science Research for Heart, Lung, Blood Diseases, and Sleep Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.840), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 0
FY 2024 1 $1,998,060 $1,998,060 – $1,998,060
FY 2023 8 $718,015 $520,326 – $1,181,909
FY 2022 0
FY 2021 0
Who wins it State government (4), Local government (3), Higher education (2) of 9 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (1) · CO (1) · DE (1) · IN (1) · MI (1)
Largest recent awards
  1. MICHIGAN PUBLIC HEALTH INSTITUTE $1,332,220 · FY 2023
  2. INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,304,518 · FY 2023
  3. MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH $1,141,039 · FY 2023
  4. SOUTHERN NEVADA HEALTH DIST $762,811 · FY 2023
  5. COUNTY OF CHARLESTON $673,219 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.847 · Diabetes, Digestive, and Kidney Diseases Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.847), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 616 $537,141 $153,319 – $771,172
FY 2025 659 $730,832 $270,038 – $1,572,806
FY 2024 929
FY 2023 961
FY 2022 975
FY 2021 1,012

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,152 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,506), Nonprofit (1,046), Business (356) of 5,152 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (137) · NY (98) · MA (84) · PA (74) · TX (64)
Largest recent awards
  1. BECKMAN RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF THE CITY OF HOPE $6,282,406 · FY 2026
  2. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,583,712 · FY 2026
  3. RECTOR & VISITORS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA $5,180,852 · FY 2026
  4. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $4,764,127 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH FLORIDA $4,640,761 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.853 · Extramural Research Programs in the Neurosciences and Neurological Disorders

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.853), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 654 $405,461 $120,825 – $587,738
FY 2025 923 $491,085 $157,949 – $1,077,840
FY 2024 1,031
FY 2023 1,194
FY 2022 1,228
FY 2021 1,132

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,162 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (4,669), Nonprofit (990), Business (259) of 6,162 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (99) · MA (93) · PA (74) · TX (39)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,747,701 · FY 2025
  2. YALE UNIV $4,888,497 · FY 2025
  3. MAYO CLINIC $3,746,535 · FY 2026
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,153,019 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, LOS ANGELES $3,109,857 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.855 · Allergy and Infectious Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.855), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,817 $295,722 $146,402 – $737,210
FY 2025 1,596
FY 2024 1,720
FY 2023 1,711
FY 2022 1,576
FY 2021 1,857

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,277 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (7,336), Nonprofit (1,735), Business (694) of 10,277 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (122) · MA (85) · NY (78) · PA (69) · TX (47)
Largest recent awards
  1. SCRIPPS RESEARCH INSTITUTE $3,679,976 · FY 2026
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,499,366 · FY 2026
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $3,414,775 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $3,389,992 · FY 2026
  5. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $3,204,071 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,048 $420,000 $325,870 – $487,506
FY 2025 1,115
FY 2024 1,171
FY 2023 1,383
FY 2022 1,574
FY 2021 1,321

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,024), Nonprofit (734), Business (565) of 7,612 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (149) · NY (81) · TX (73) · PA (60) · MA (55)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
  4. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 386 $392,826 $79,188 – $593,582
FY 2025 665 $452,972 $178,000 – $1,225,547
FY 2024 785
FY 2023 835
FY 2022 799
FY 2021 764

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,137), Nonprofit (693), Business (224) of 4,234 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (103) · MA (87) · PA (75) · NY (62) · MI (34)
Largest recent awards
  1. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
  4. GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
  5. RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.867 · Vision Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.867), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 189 $440,263 $132,837 – $633,742
FY 2025 309 $464,903 $260,661 – $1,026,742
FY 2024 408 $630,967 $342,920 – $1,431,708
FY 2023 401 $771,099 $422,359 – $1,867,311
FY 2022 391
FY 2021 394

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,092 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (1,564), Nonprofit (300), Business (168) of 2,092 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (182) · NY (96) · MA (90) · MD (48) · TX (48)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO $8,283,963 · FY 2024
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $5,256,090 · FY 2023
  3. OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, THE $4,539,043 · FY 2025
  4. ALLEN INSTITUTE $4,260,011 · FY 2025
  5. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $4,026,010 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026