Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-26-106 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Development of Collaborative Research Facilities or Research-Resource Facilities (C06 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$2,000,000 – $8,000,000
Expected awards
~14
Application deadline
Jan 25, 2028
Posted
Mar 6, 2026
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) solicits applications to develop shared-use research facilities or research-supporting facilities that enable collaborative research and benefit broad research communities at large. The NOFO supports two existing construction programs: the Biomedical Research Facilities (BRF) program and the HIV/AIDS Research Facilities (HRF) program.The BRF program supports the construction or modernization of biomedical research facilities that advance basic, translational, clinical, or behavioral science research in all areas. Intended facilities include shared research spaces, core facilities, biorepositories, or other shared-use resource facilities that serve a broad scientific community with a significant, long-term impact on biomedical research.The HRF program funds the development of HIV/AIDS research or research-supporting resources that the empowered research activities must align with the NIH Office of AIDS Research (OAR) priorities, as outlined at OAR HIV/AIDS Research Priorities, including research focusing on the long-term health consequences of HIV infection.NIH encourages applications from institutions across all geographic regions of the country, including Institutions of Emerging Excellence (IEE) in biomedical research, to strengthen the nation"s research capacity.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.310 · Trans-NIH Research Support

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.310), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 115 $582,838 $418,649 – $860,735
FY 2025 401 $786,876 $385,000 – $1,467,198
FY 2024 455 $1,174,898 $558,715 – $2,057,532
FY 2023 643 $1,437,358 $1,200,000 – $2,578,153
FY 2022 666
FY 2021 689

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $8,000,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,969 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,212), Nonprofit (582), Business (34) of 2,969 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · MA (103) · NY (93) · PA (63) · MI (21)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $34,424,926 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $33,014,143 · FY 2023
  3. MAYO CLINIC JACKSONVILLE (A NONPROFIT CORPORATION) $17,574,818 · FY 2024
  4. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $16,308,508 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS MEDICAL CENTER RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC. $14,064,599 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.352 · Construction Support

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.352), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 0
FY 2025 13 $7,651,943 $4,969,509 – $7,947,160
FY 2024 11 $7,731,872 $7,463,789 – $7,982,597
FY 2023 12 $7,956,431 $7,779,360 – $8,000,000
FY 2022 10 $7,936,836 $6,646,046 – $7,973,645
FY 2021 9 $5,130,692 $3,430,993 – $6,721,226

For comparison, this notice advertises $2,000,000 – $8,000,000.

Who wins it Higher education (43), Nonprofit (9), State government (1) of 55 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states NY (4) · AL (3) · MA (3) · NC (3) · CT (2)
Largest recent awards
  1. BOISE STATE UNIVERSITY $8,000,000 · FY 2025
  2. OHIO UNIVERSITY $8,000,000 · FY 2024
  3. TEXAS BIOMEDICAL RESEARCH INSTITUTE $8,000,000 · FY 2023
  4. TOUGALOO COLLEGE $8,000,000 · FY 2024
  5. UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS MEDICAL CENTER RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC. $8,000,000 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026