Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-27-053 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Exploratory Clinical Neuroscience Research on Substance Use Disorders (R61/R33 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~6
Application deadline
Jun 16, 2028
Posted
Aug 31, 2026
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Substance Use & Addiction
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) uses a R61/R33 Phased Innovation Award mechanism to support clinical research applications that are exploratory and developmental in nature and focus on understanding the neurobiological mechanisms underlying SUD, including fundamental brain function relevant to substance use. This NOFO is particularly designed to support exploratory/developmental projects requiring budgets that would exceed that allowed for the R21 mechanism (Neuroscience Research on Drug Abuse (R21 Clinical Trial Optional)

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide
Set-aside Set aside or prioritized for: Faith-based organization
“Faith-based or Community-based Organizations” — From the announcement

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 1, 2026 Title updated
  2. Sep 1, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  3. Sep 1, 2026 Deadline set: Jun 16, 2028