Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-23-228 · National Institutes of Health

Open

National Institute of General Medical Sciences Predoctoral Basic Biomedical Sciences Research Training Program (T32)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Sep 25, 2026 23 days left
Posted
Oct 5, 2023
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds predoctoral research training in one of 12 basic biomedical science areas supported by NIGMS. It is for eligible U.S. institutions and organizations, including higher education institutions, nonprofits, governments, tribal organizations, and faith-based or community-based organizations; foreign institutions and non-U.S. components of U.S. organizations are not eligible. Applications may be new, renewal, or resubmission only for renewals, and each organization may support only one training grant per research area. Awards can last up to five years, with budgets not limited but required to match actual needs; the notice does not require cost sharing. The grant may cover trainee stipends, tuition and fees, health insurance, travel up to $300 per trainee, and other training-related expenses, and it does not allow appointed trainees to lead independent clinical trials.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Training, Fellowship & Career Development
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Higher Education Access, Institutions & Humanities
Official description from grants.gov

The goal of the NIGMS Predoctoral Basic Biomedical Sciences Research Training Program is to develop a pool of well-trained scientists available to address the Nations biomedical research agenda. Specifically, this funding opportunity announcement provides support to eligible, domestic institutions to develop and implement effective, evidence-informed approaches to biomedical graduate training and mentoring that will keep pace with the rapid evolution of the biomedical research enterprise. NIGMS expects that the proposed research training programs will incorporate didactic, research, and career development elements to prepare trainees for careers that will have a significant impact on the health-related research needs of the Nation.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,048 $420,000 $325,870 – $487,506
FY 2025 1,115
FY 2024 1,171
FY 2023 1,383
FY 2022 1,574
FY 2021 1,321

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,024), Nonprofit (734), Business (565) of 7,612 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (149) · NY (81) · TX (73) · PA (60) · MA (55)
Largest recent awards
  1. UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
  4. BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
  5. UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026