Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-DA-25-060 · National Institutes of Health

Open

High Priority HIV and Substance Use Research (RM1 Clinical Trial Optional)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Up to $1,500,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Mar 5, 2027
Posted
Jan 17, 2024
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds highly collaborative research on HIV and substance use, including basic, epidemiologic, clinical, intervention, and implementation studies. It is open to U.S. organizations and requires a multiple PD/PI team of 3 to 6 investigators; foreign organizations cannot apply, though foreign components in U.S. applications are allowed. NIDA expects to fund one to two awards, with direct costs up to $1.5 million per year and a project period of up to 5 years. No cost sharing is required, and applications must fit NIDA and NIH HIV research priorities; projects focused only on alcohol, only on developing a product or device, only on certain clinical trials, only on observational/genetic/comparative effectiveness studies, or research outside the U.S. are not responsive.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Education
  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • People with Disabilities
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Substance Use & Addiction
Official description from grants.gov

The purpose of this Funding Opportunity Announcement (FOA) is to support high priority research at the intersection of HIV and substance use. This FOA invites innovative research projects with the potential to open new areas of HIV/AIDS research and/or lead to new avenues for prevention, treatment and cure of HIV among people who use drugs (PWUD). Applications submitted under this FOA are required to have a detailed research plan, preliminary data, and a clear description of the nexus with substance use. This FOA is open to both individual researchers and research teams and includes all areas of research from basic science to clinical and implementation research. All studies must focus on NIH HIV/AIDS Research Priorities: NOT-OD-20-018: UPDATE: NIH HIV/AIDS Research Priorities and Guidelines for Determining HIV/AIDS Funding.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.279 · Drug Use and Addiction Research Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.279), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 428 $422,523 $183,034 – $700,682
FY 2025 588 $709,054 $348,214 – $1,489,059
FY 2024 714
FY 2023 724
FY 2022 740
FY 2021 606

For comparison, this notice advertises Up to $1,500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 3,800 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,743), Nonprofit (534), Business (366) of 3,800 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (130) · MA (90) · NY (86) · PA (72) · MD (56)
Largest recent awards
  1. FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY $7,372,834 · FY 2025
  2. BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER, INC. $7,081,684 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $7,003,822 · FY 2025
  4. REACX PHARMACEUTICALS, INC. $6,900,000 · FY 2025
  5. WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE $6,889,914 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026