Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. RFA-DK-27-112 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Single Source for the Continuation of the Epidemiology of Diabetes Interventions and Complications (EDIC) Study Research Center (Collaborative U01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Invitation only
“single source competition that will invite application(s) from eligible organization(s) to apply” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~1
Application deadline
Nov 9, 2026
Posted
Aug 31, 2026
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Patients & People with Health Conditions
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
Official description from grants.gov

The primary purpose of this FOA is to support the EDIC Research Center in continuing long-term follow-up of the EDIC cohort to study the development and progression of complications in type 1 diabetes (T1D). The research will address severe microvascular disease, cardiovascular and liver disease, sleep disorders, mortality, and other comorbidities. The goals are to investigate the trajectory of age-related morbidities such as cognition, physical function, and frailty, and to identify their associations with risk factors that affect quality of life, self-management, and caregiver burden. Particular emphasis will be placed on evaluating the impact of emerging therapies, including SGLT2 inhibitors and GLP-1 receptor agonists, on renal and cardiovascular outcomes. The initiative also encourages the application of advanced statistical methods, including machine learning and artificial intelligence, to identify phenotypes that are either susceptible or resilient to diabetes-related complications. Modern technologies, such as continuous glucose monitoring, coronary calcification imaging, and vascular tonometry, will be used and compared with data from existing cohorts. In addition, the program will support assessments of obesity-related outcomes and comorbidities—including metabolic-associated steatotic liver disease (MASLD) and obstructive sleep apnea (OSA)—within the increasingly overweight/obese T1D population. Multi-omic approaches to identify biochemical signatures associated with complications are also expected. Finally, the leveraging of external databases to examine the cost-effectiveness and quality-of-life impact of intensive therapy across the lifespan will be encouraged. This is a Forecast for a single source competition that will invite application(s) from eligible organization(s) to apply. Please see Eligibility Section for additional information. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application(s) will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered for funding.

Who can apply

  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.847 · Diabetes, Digestive, and Kidney Diseases Extramural Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.847), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 616 $537,141 $153,319 – $771,172
FY 2025 659 $730,832 $270,038 – $1,572,806
FY 2024 929
FY 2023 961
FY 2022 975
FY 2021 1,012

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 5,152 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,506), Nonprofit (1,046), Business (356) of 5,152 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (137) · NY (98) · MA (84) · PA (74) · TX (64)
Largest recent awards
  1. BECKMAN RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF THE CITY OF HOPE $6,282,406 · FY 2026
  2. THE LELAND STANFORD JUNIOR UNIVERSITY $5,583,712 · FY 2026
  3. RECTOR & VISITORS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA $5,180,852 · FY 2026
  4. NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY $4,764,127 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH FLORIDA $4,640,761 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Sep 1, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  2. Sep 1, 2026 Deadline set: Nov 9, 2026