Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PD-98-1610 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Physical Oceanography

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
From $250,000
Expected awards
Not specified
Application deadline
Feb 17, 2027
Posted
Jan 21, 2026
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Research & Discovery
  • Other / needs-review
  • Environment, Conservation & Natural Resources
Official description from grants.gov

The Physical Oceanography Program supports research on a wide range of topics associated with the structure and movement of the ocean, with the way in which it transports various quantities, with the way the ocean's physical structure interacts with the biological and chemical processes within it, and with interactions between the ocean and the atmosphere, solid earth and ice that surround it.

Who can apply

  • Unrestricted
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.050 · Geosciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.050), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 286 $384,889 $140,548 – $582,302
FY 2025 920 $382,104 $189,831 – $608,490
FY 2024 1,251
FY 2023 1,285
FY 2022 1,314
FY 2021 1,504

For comparison, this notice advertises From $250,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 6,560 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (5,801), Business (430), Individuals (137) of 6,560 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (124) · MA (88) · NY (70) · TX (62) · CO (36)
Largest recent awards
  1. EARTHSCOPE CONSORTIUM INC. $55,190,331 · FY 2025
  2. TEXAS A & M RESEARCH FOUNDATION $17,635,793 · FY 2025
  3. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $6,000,000 · FY 2025
  4. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $5,406,902 · FY 2025
  5. PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $4,893,936 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Aug 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  2. Aug 18, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  3. Aug 18, 2026 Deadline moved: Aug 17, 2026 → Feb 17, 2027
  4. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced
  5. Jul 19, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced