No. PAR-27-056 · National Institutes of Health
Limited Competition: Institutional Development Award (IDeA) for Clinical & Translational Research (CTR) (P30 - CT Optional)
Geography: AK · AR · DE · HI · ID · KS · KY · LA · ME · MS · MT · ND · NE · NH · NM · NV · OK · PR · RI · SC · SD · VT · WV · WY
“Are located in an IDeA-eligible state, commonwealth, or jurisdiction, which are Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming;” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- May 30, 2029
- Posted
- Aug 19, 2026
- Last verified
- 5 days ago
At a glance
No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The Institutional Development Award (IDeA) program develops biomedical research capacity in states that have historically received low levels of NIH funding (IDeA states). The IDeA Clinical & Translational Research (CTR) program supports two programmatic tracks to build clinical and translational (C&T) research capacity to enable research on diseases and health challenges prevalent in IDeA states. IDeA CTR Development (CTR-D) awards focus on C&T research workforce development and infrastructure enhancement at health research organizations with limited clinical research capacity in IDeA states. IDeA CTR Network (CTR-N) awards support statewide (or multi-state) networks of health research organizations to expand existing infrastructure, develop the research workforce to enhance the network organization's ability to design and implement competitive C&T research programs, and coordinate clinical research activities state-wide and/or across IDeA states.This is a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for a Limited Competition that will invite application(s) from eligible organization(s) to apply. Please see Section III. Eligibility for additional information. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application(s) will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
“Are located in an IDeA-eligible state, commonwealth, or jurisdiction, which are Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming;” — From the announcement
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1,048 | $420,000 | $325,870 – $487,506 |
| FY 2025 | 1,115 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1,171 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,383 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,574 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,321 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
- THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Aug 21, 2026 Eligibility text updated
- Aug 20, 2026 Title updated
- Aug 20, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
- Aug 20, 2026 Deadline set: May 30, 2029