Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-27-021 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Seed Instrumentation Support (SIS) Program (S10 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$50,000 – $400,000
Expected awards
~15
Application deadline
Jul 1, 2028
Posted
Jun 25, 2026
Last verified
2 days ago

At a glance

No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.

What it funds

  • Health
  • Infrastructure, Construction & Shared Facilities
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
Official description from grants.gov

This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) aims to build new research capacity and develop a sustainable research program by supporting the purchase of a single commercially available biomedical research instrument currently unavailable in the institution. Instruments funded through this program must be shared among the users to create new research opportunities, enable reproducible data generation, encourage collaborative research and training, and strengthen long-term research capabilities. The minimum award is $50,000. While there is no limit on the total cost of the instrument, the maximum award is $400,000.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.310 · Trans-NIH Research Support

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.310), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 115 $582,838 $418,649 – $860,735
FY 2025 401 $786,876 $385,000 – $1,467,198
FY 2024 455 $1,174,898 $558,715 – $2,057,532
FY 2023 643 $1,437,358 $1,200,000 – $2,578,153
FY 2022 666
FY 2021 689

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 2,969 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (2,212), Nonprofit (582), Business (34) of 2,969 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · MA (103) · NY (93) · PA (63) · MI (21)
Largest recent awards
  1. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $34,424,926 · FY 2023
  2. THE GENERAL HOSPITAL CORPORATION $33,014,143 · FY 2023
  3. MAYO CLINIC JACKSONVILLE (A NONPROFIT CORPORATION) $17,574,818 · FY 2024
  4. TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, THE $16,308,508 · FY 2025
  5. UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS MEDICAL CENTER RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC. $14,064,599 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 18, 2026

Assistance listing 93.351 · Research Infrastructure Programs

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.351), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 139 $607,409 $418,448 – $813,252
FY 2025 168 $596,737 $349,073 – $1,388,571
FY 2024 188 $571,633 $349,563 – $966,019
FY 2023 197 $590,126 $340,122 – $1,345,699
FY 2022 223 $571,482 $334,100 – $755,338
FY 2021 163 $589,686 $399,709 – $999,500

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 1,078 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (818), Nonprofit (186), Business (39) of 1,078 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (125) · NY (89) · MA (80) · TX (64) · PA (35)
Largest recent awards
  1. OREGON HEALTH & SCIENCE UNIVERSITY $16,992,533 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI SYSTEM $6,307,489 · FY 2023
  3. BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $5,213,369 · FY 2021
  4. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, DAVIS $4,023,900 · FY 2023
  5. UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA IRVINE $3,694,446 · FY 2025

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026

Assistance listing 93.855 · Allergy and Infectious Diseases Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.855), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 1,817 $295,722 $146,402 – $737,210
FY 2025 1,596
FY 2024 1,720
FY 2023 1,711
FY 2022 1,576
FY 2021 1,857

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 10,277 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (7,336), Nonprofit (1,735), Business (694) of 10,277 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (122) · MA (85) · NY (78) · PA (69) · TX (47)
Largest recent awards
  1. SCRIPPS RESEARCH INSTITUTE $3,679,976 · FY 2026
  2. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN FRANCISCO, THE $3,499,366 · FY 2026
  3. UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $3,414,775 · FY 2026
  4. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $3,389,992 · FY 2026
  5. ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE $3,204,071 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Assistance listing 93.866 · Aging Research

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.866), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 795 $493,972 $248,999 – $713,195
FY 2025 1,033 $643,089 $467,538 – $1,733,010
FY 2024 1,560
FY 2023 1,539
FY 2022 1,715
FY 2021 1,595

For comparison, this notice advertises $50,000 – $400,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 8,237 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (6,015), Nonprofit (1,370), Business (538) of 8,237 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (153) · NY (110) · MA (100) · TX (57) · PA (41)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $15,345,206 · FY 2026
  2. UNIVERSITY OF UTAH $10,793,501 · FY 2025
  3. THE TRUSTEES OF COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK $10,223,348 · FY 2026
  4. SUTTER BAY HOSPITALS $9,466,491 · FY 2025
  5. TUFTS MEDICAL CENTER PARENT, INC. $8,296,115 · FY 2026

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 18, 2026 Eligibility text updated
  2. Jul 11, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
  3. Jul 11, 2026 Deadline set: Jul 1, 2028