Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. PAR-25-449 · National Institutes of Health

Open

Mind and Body Interventions to Restore Whole Person Health via Emotional Well-Being Mechanisms (R61/R33 Clinical Trial Required)

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
Award range
Not specified
Expected awards
~3
Application deadline
Jun 7, 2028
Posted
Sep 26, 2025
Last verified
5 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds mechanistic clinical trials on mind and body interventions such as mindfulness, yoga, acupuncture, and massage to study how they affect emotional well-being and whole person health. Applicants may include higher education institutions, nonprofits, governments, tribal organizations, faith-based or community-based organizations, regional organizations, for-profit organizations, small businesses, and federal agencies; foreign organizations and foreign components are not allowed. Awards are for up to 5 years total, with up to 2 years for the R61 phase and up to 4 years for the R33 phase, and direct costs may not exceed $475,000 per year. NCCIH expects to fund 3 awards with $2,000,000 in FY 2026. No cost sharing is required.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Health
  • Research & Discovery
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Biomedical & Disease Research
  • Mental & Behavioral Health
Official description from grants.gov

The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) announces this Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) to solicit applications for research on how mind and body interventions through psychological and/or physical inputs (e.g., mindfulness meditation, yoga, acupuncture, massage, and other brain and/or body based interventions) impact mechanisms of emotional well-being (EWB) and their associations with whole person health (WPH), consistent with the NIH priority to address the health needs of the American people and improve their well-being. The NOFO will support rigorous and well-powered mechanistic research studies that are supported by strong preliminary data. The studies should examine the effects of mind and body interventions on innovative mechanisms of EWB (as the primary outcome), as well as the associated relationship with the Whole Person Health Index (WPHI, as a secondary outcome). To enhance research safety, rigor, and efficiency of NIH-funded mechanistic clinical trials, this initiative will use a two-phased award funding mechanism (R61/R33). The funding will support an initial phase (R61) to establish feasibility benchmarks for the proposed mechanistic clinical trial(s), followed by a second phase (R33) to complete the full-scale trials, which will be contingent upon successful completion of R61 milestones. Applications should provide preliminary data that are comparable in quality and quantity to those expected for an R01 proposal.

Who can apply

  • City or township governments
  • County governments
  • For-profit organizations other than small businesses
  • Independent school districts
  • Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
  • Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
  • Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
  • Others
  • Private institutions of higher education
  • Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
  • Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
  • Small businesses
  • Special district governments
  • State governments
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 93.213 · Research and Training in Complementary and Integrative Health

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.213), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 58 $441,813 $190,230 – $676,906
FY 2025 51 $472,500 $321,065 – $1,329,943
FY 2024 100 $562,397 $286,558 – $1,285,052
FY 2023 92 $695,557 $380,313 – $1,709,004
FY 2022 94 $715,153 $419,983 – $1,985,928
FY 2021 92 $1,686,420 $625,217 – $3,082,386
Who wins it Higher education (342), Nonprofit (97), Business (33) of 487 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (77) · MA (59) · NY (29) · NC (12) · IL (11)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $21,646,919 · FY 2022
  2. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA $11,192,369 · FY 2022
  3. DUKE UNIVERSITY $7,025,837 · FY 2022
  4. THE RAND CORPORATION $6,237,409 · FY 2023
  5. THE SPAULDING REHABILITATION HOSPITAL CORPORATION $5,991,655 · FY 2023

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 21, 2026