No. PAR-25-450 · National Institutes of Health
Clinical Trial Readiness for Rare Diseases, Disorders, and Syndromes (R21 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jul 20, 2028
- Posted
- Sep 22, 2025
- Last verified
- 6 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds clinical projects that improve readiness for future clinical trials in rare diseases by validating biomarkers or clinical outcome measures, or by defining disease natural history and patient characteristics needed for trial design. It does not fund clinical trials, biomarker discovery, assay characterization, standalone patient registries, new trial networks, or intervention studies focused on safety, pharmacokinetics, efficacy, or effectiveness. Eligible applicants include U.S. higher education institutions, nonprofits, for-profits, governments, tribal organizations, faith-based or community-based organizations, and foreign organizations are not eligible; foreign components are not allowed. Awards may request up to $275,000 in direct costs for a 2-year project period, with no more than $200,000 in direct costs in any single year, and cost sharing is not required.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) invites researchers to submit applications for support of clinical projects that address critical needs for clinical trial readiness in rare diseases. The initiative seeks applications that are intended to facilitate rare diseases research by enabling efficient and effective movement of candidate therapeutics or diagnostics toward clinical trials, and to increase their likelihood of success. This could be through the development and testing of rigorous biomarkers and clinical outcome assessment measures, or by defining the presentation and course of a rare disease to enable the design of upcoming clinical trials.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.350 · National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.350), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 106 | $427,386 | $166,500 – $755,137 |
| FY 2025 | 110 | $427,602 | $178,000 – $1,833,042 |
| FY 2024 | 137 | $463,150 | $176,720 – $2,139,478 |
| FY 2023 | 131 | $363,189 | $155,500 – $3,024,000 |
| FY 2022 | 106 | $438,741 | $156,117 – $1,906,971 |
| FY 2021 | 76 | $324,197 | $28,713 – $1,276,814 |
- ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI $46,369,962 · FY 2022
- TRUSTEES OF TUFTS COLLEGE $44,451,810 · FY 2023
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $43,319,327 · FY 2023
- REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $39,816,036 · FY 2023
- THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER $39,349,638 · FY 2021
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 30, 2026
Assistance listing 93.865 · Child Health and Human Development Extramural Research
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.865), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 386 | $392,826 | $79,188 – $593,582 |
| FY 2025 | 665 | $452,972 | $178,000 – $1,225,547 |
| FY 2024 | 785 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 835 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 799 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 764 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,234 — award counts are complete.
- PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE $16,115,056 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI $15,385,183 · FY 2025
- UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON $6,635,347 · FY 2025
- GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY (THE) $5,117,920 · FY 2025
- RESEARCH TRIANGLE INSTITUTE $4,847,747 · FY 2025
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026