No. PAR-27-054 · National Institutes of Health
Limited Competition: Centers of Biomedical Research Excellence: Development Phase (COBRE-D) (P30 - Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
No audit required
“Eligibility is restricted to institutions that meet the following criteria: Are located in an IDeA-eligible state... and Award doctoral degrees in the health-related sciences...” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- May 26, 2029
- Posted
- Aug 19, 2026
- Last verified
- 6 days ago
At a glance
No plain-language summary yet for this grant — the official description below is the best source.
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
The Institutional Development Awards (IDeA) program supports biomedical research capacity building in states that have historically received low levels of NIH funding. The Centers of Biomedical Research Excellence: Development Phase (COBRE-D) program supports institutions in IDeA states to increase their biomedical research capacity in a broad scientific area of strategic importance to them but for which they have limited existing infrastructure or expertise.COBRE-D supports a long-term institutional vision focused on the recruitment and mentoring of early-career investigators with supplemental start-up packages for new hires, the establishment of research facilities, and enhancement of research administration support services. This program serves as an on-ramp for less-resourced institutions to the Centers of Biomedical Research Excellence: Expansion/Sustainability Phases (COBRE-E/S) program. This is a Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) for a Limited Competition that will invite application(s) from eligible organization(s) to apply. Please see Section III. Eligibility for additional information. In accordance with NIH standard peer-review processes, the application(s) will be peer-reviewed, and only meritorious application(s) will be considered.
Who can apply
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1,048 | $420,000 | $325,870 – $487,506 |
| FY 2025 | 1,115 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1,171 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,383 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,574 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,321 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
- THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026
Change history
Since we first indexed it- Aug 20, 2026 Eligibility text updated
- Aug 20, 2026 Title updated
- Aug 20, 2026 Status: forecasted → open
- Aug 20, 2026 Deadline set: May 26, 2029