Skip to content
Simpler Grants

No. 26-501 · U.S. National Science Foundation

Open

Collaboratory to Advance Mathematics Education and Learning (CAMEL) for K-12

Dealbreakers No cost share required Audit: not stated Reimbursement-only: not stated
Award range
$1,000,000 – $1,500,000
Expected awards
~7
Application deadline
No deadline listed
Posted
Dec 12, 2025
Last verified
4 days ago

At a glance

AI summary

This program funds collaborations to advance K-12 math learning and education through new or repurposed, high-value datasets, data science, AI, technology, and collaboration between researchers and education practitioners. Only U.S.-based two- and four-year higher education institutions, certain U.S. nonprofit non-academic organizations, and federally recognized Tribal Nations may apply; there are no limits on who may serve as PI. NSF expects 6 to 7 awards, with up to $1.5 million total costs per award over up to three years. No cost-share requirement is stated. Partners such as the Walton Family Foundation and their staff are not allowed to be involved in proposals.

AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement

What it funds

  • Science and Technology and other Research and Development
  • Capacity Building & Technical Assistance
  • Research & Discovery
  • Educators & Health/Public-Service Workforce
  • Researchers & Scholars
  • Students & Learners (K-12 and Postsecondary)
  • AI, Computing & Cybersecurity
  • Research Infrastructure, Instrumentation & Data
  • STEM Education & Research Training
Official description from grants.gov

The Collaboratory to Advance Mathematics Education and Learning (CAMEL) for K-12 initiative aims to advance mathematics learning and education through purposeful collaboration that draws on the interdisciplinary Science of Learning (including neuroscience; cognitive, developmental, and social sciences; computer science; machine learning; engineering; and education research), deep experiences in education practice and teaching, and innovations in the use of data science, AI and technology. Through an agreement with philanthropic partners, including the Walton Family Foundation (WFF), CAMEL consists of two phases. Phase I invites proposals for the creation of new research networks to support the generation of high value datasets that aim to advance math learning and education. These research networks must include researchers who study the basic science of learning, education practitioners, and data scientists. The high value dataset may come from either generating a new dataset or by increasing the value of an existing dataset. Phase II, open only to awardees of Phase I, establishes a “collaboratory,” which is a socio-technological platform that prioritizes community-building and capacity-building to sustain collaborative efforts to advance math learning and education in K-12. Expanding Participation in STEM, NSF Priorities and Gold Standard Science: NSF prioritizes cutting-edge discovery science and engineering research, advancing technology and innovation, and creating opportunities for all Americans. NSF has established priorities set forth by Congress, the administration and the NSF director to promote NSF's mission . Proposers should review the list of NSF priorities and are encouraged to align their proposals with them, where appropriate. NSF also expects the highest standards of scientific rigor, integrity and adherence to appropriate tenets of Gold Standard Science in proposals, as appropriate for the field of science and research modality.

Who can apply

  • Others
Geographic restriction None found in the announcement — likely nationwide

Program history

USASpending.gov

Assistance listing 47.075 · Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (47.075), not just this notice.

Fiscal year Awards Median award Middle half
FY 2026 (so far) 89 $574,558 $210,470 – $772,299
FY 2025 559 $208,544 $38,032 – $400,000
FY 2024 838 $193,570 $86,318 – $399,791
FY 2023 869
FY 2022 895
FY 2021 958

For comparison, this notice advertises $1,000,000 – $1,500,000.

Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 4,208 — award counts are complete.

Who wins it Higher education (3,813), Business (195), Individuals (130) of 4,208 awards — categories can overlap.
Top states CA (104) · NY (88) · MA (74) · TX (73) · IL (32)
Largest recent awards
  1. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN $10,999,998 · FY 2024
  2. NATIONAL OPINION RESEARCH CENTER $7,998,747 · FY 2025
  3. UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY RESEARCH FOUNDATION, THE $5,599,998 · FY 2024
  4. REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA $5,200,000 · FY 2024
  5. NATIONAL BUREAU OF ECONOMIC RESEARCH INC $3,065,935 · FY 2024

Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 5, 2026

Change history

Since we first indexed it
  1. Jul 25, 2026 Grant announcement document replaced