No. PAR-25-203 · National Institutes of Health
Focused Technology Research and Development (R01 Clinical Trial Not Allowed)
Not reimbursement-only
“Grant: A financial assistance mechanism providing money, property, or both to an eligible entity to carry out an approved project or activity.” — From the announcement
- Award range
- Not specified
- Expected awards
- Not specified
- Application deadline
- Jan 7, 2028
- Posted
- Nov 14, 2024
- Last verified
- 2 days ago
At a glance
AI summaryThis program funds early-stage technology development and validation to create working prototypes for biomedical research tools, methods, software, reagents, devices, and related technologies. It is for projects supported by proof-of-concept and preliminary data, and applications with specific biological questions are not responsive. Eligible applicants include a wide range of U.S. and foreign-affiliated organizations, but foreign organizations and non-domestic components of U.S. organizations are not eligible; foreign components are allowed. Awards have no set budget limit, the project period can be up to 5 years, and there is no cost sharing requirement. The notice does not state a set number of awards, and it does not allow clinical trials.
AI-generated summary — verify against the announcement
What it funds
Official description from grants.gov
This Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) supports projects relevant to the NIGMS mission that focus solely on the development of technologies with potential to enable acquisition of biomedical knowledge. Projects should be justified in terms of technical innovation and utility of such technical innovation for impacting future biomedical research. Outcomes or products of the proposed project should significantly advance the current state of the art and be sufficiently characterized for application in addressing a broad range of biomedical research questions.
Who can apply
- City or township governments
- County governments
- For-profit organizations other than small businesses
- Independent school districts
- Native American tribal governments (Federally recognized)
- Native American tribal organizations (other than Federally recognized)
- Nonprofits with 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Nonprofits without 501(c)(3) status (other than higher education)
- Others
- Private institutions of higher education
- Public and State controlled institutions of higher education
- Public housing authorities / Indian housing authorities
- Small businesses
- Special district governments
- State governments
Program history
USASpending.govAssistance listing 93.859 · Biomedical Research and Research Training
Real awards this federal program has made — the whole assistance listing (93.859), not just this notice.
| Fiscal year | Awards | Median award | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2026 (so far) | 1,048 | $420,000 | $325,870 – $487,506 |
| FY 2025 | 1,115 | — | — |
| FY 2024 | 1,171 | — | — |
| FY 2023 | 1,383 | — | — |
| FY 2022 | 1,574 | — | — |
| FY 2021 | 1,321 | — | — |
Dollar figures are based on the 1,000 most recent awards we store, not all 7,612 — award counts are complete.
- UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENTER $5,185,402 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM $3,654,310 · FY 2026
- THE TRUSTEES OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY $2,993,000 · FY 2026
- BATTELLE MEMORIAL INSTITUTE $2,843,142 · FY 2026
- UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE $2,652,150 · FY 2026
Source: USASpending.gov · refreshed Aug 23, 2026